is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ALMOST DONE.

First of all, I am so glad that at least one person (Josiah!) followed the link to the perfect drum/cymbal rimshot for yesterday�s I USED TO BE A SODA BOTTLE joke.

Also, coinky-dinky-ness, I re-met Josiah, with whom I was acquaintanced in the late 80s, on an airplane from San Francisco to Philly, because he complimented me on the blue boots I was talking about in yesterday�s entry, and then we realized we knew each other.

Right now I am ALMOST DONE with what has felt like a Herculean task of writing, but which, given that I have much larger writing plans for the next 9 months or so, will in retrospect seem like small beans, or something else that is small and not worth trading for a mule. But, in the last three weeks, during which I had to write two papers that I assumed would be the kind of papers that you write because you have to and thus they get the job done but don�t �change the world,� so to speak, I have written two really good papers! They are so good that I may be sitting on the threshold of the work I�ll do for the next ten years.

Of course, there�s no way to say that for certain. It is entirely possible, almost way too possible, that I�ll reread either paper a month from now, or tomorrow, or in a year, and see how not-quite-ready-for-primetime they are. In fact that is inevitable on some level. But for now it is just very nice to feel good about having written something good, given how much self-loathing and uncertainty is attached to the vocation of writing in general.

Abrupt change of topic: I also have PMS right now, which means that I cannot, no matter what I do, stop wanting to eat. I am hungry every single second of every single minute. It is annoying. But I guess it makes sense that the minute one escapes from one sort of self-loathing one knocks up against another. O! the heavy burden of my inescapable human materiality! What's more, there isn�t very much food in the house, and I am effectively trapped inside until tomorrow because it is New York Carnaval today (remember last year�s Carnaval, when I was re-named Cynthia by a local cop?), which means that my neighborhood is parade central, given that I live in the part of the West Indies that has been moved to New York. The POlice are everywhere in this neighborhood, and soon all the streets will be filled with people wearing flags as clothing, or makeup as clothing. I'm not against the celebration, but the sheer massiveness of the humanity pressing up against you, by mistake or on purpose, is in general too much for me to take. But I do have some food, including one small chocolate bar, Cheerios multi-grain Crunch, milk, beer, selzer water, tasty angel hair pasta, a tiny selection of vegetables, red pepper hummus, crackers, some swiss cheese, and popcorn. That should get me through to tomorrow. I hope.

PS-- Barack Obama wants you to give $5 to the Red Cross, and you can do it very easily by texting GIVE to 24357. It's not a bad idea. And if you figure out how to text some chocolate cake into my mouth, I'll give you $10.

4:25 p.m. - September 01, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me