is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

today.

1) I wake up early to go to DC with Gus to see his family. on the way I'm supposed to fill up six hours in DC while Gus does some research in an archive. usually this would be fine--museums, the walk to the lincoln memorial and so on. but today I'm still hormone-miserable and exhausted from sleeping badly. so we buy me a ticket for later and I go back to sleep. this isn't as easy as it sounds because I'm so crazy.
[digression: the hormone poisoning also makes me constantly exhausted. I can't tell whether this is because the drug does this, or the way-beyond-the-help-of-reason misery does it, or I'm tired out by all the internalized work it takes to keep the crazy within the boundaries of what civilization can handle.]
2) I wake up later, and get a message from friendster that my friend creighton's birthday is coming up. creighton killed himself four years ago. in fact he hung himself in his bathroom, like david foster wallace. thanks, friendster.
[I haven't logged in to friendster in many years. usually I do appreciate the birthday reminders.]
3) while I attempt to clean Gus's beyond-disgusting kitchen so we won't come home to it, I watch Beautyshop and learn a lot about how white women are different from black women. it remiinds me, strangely, of the retarded and unjust colleague-fight I'm in, because in both cases I am hearing myself described in a way that renders me unrecognizable to myself. still, at least Beautyshop is funny, and not totally insane.
4) on amtrak there are no seats. I ask a man taking up two seats if I can have one. he makes a point of taking a really long time to move his stuff off the seat. he's a semi-hostile man's man type. I sit down and pull out my book, hannah arendt's crises of the republic. then he pulls out.... O magazine? Oprah's magazine? huh. now he's typing furiously into a laptop. letter to the editor, maybe? dear oprah....
5) 1.5 hours left on the train. I have a mozzerella, tomato and basil sandwich and a seltzer. that might work.

posted by sidekick 3

4:11 p.m. - September 19, 2008
ds - 2008-09-20 15:07:51
Now in beautiful D.C. Yay.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me