is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

J to the ill.

I have the strangest form of ill right now. It's some sort of headcold. There's congestion, some runny nose, headache, and the overall lassitude of feeling not quite right. But the major symptoms aren't what they normally are. It's not that I can't breathe or that I can't stop coughing or blowing my nose. It's that I am exhausted and grumpy.

Yesterday I spent all day on the couch either sleeping or watching TV. Gus showed up late in the day and I was able to report on the many, many things I had learned from the television.

Today I feel better. But only until I try to do something. Then I am immediately worn out again. At one point Gus had me convinced it was a good idea to go to the New Museum to see the Elizabeth Peyton exhibition, and since that is something I do want to do, and it was also a very nice day, and also Gus is the kind of person who has to leave the house during the day, I said yes. Sometimes I like to joke with Gus as if he is a dog, and ask him if we need to go on his walk. Because I am hilarious. We walked to the Franklin 4/5 station to go to the New Museum, and there was some sort of parade so we got to see a marching band, too. But we only got two stops on the subway before I was well aware that I was way too tired for subwaying and walking and museuming. I told him I needed to go home but that he should go to the museum on his own, but he came back home with me because he is cute and sweet. I took a nap. I'm sure he did something involving watching baseball. We both got some work done at some point. Later we had mexican food and watched a movie on TV.

Things get exciting now, however. Evany and Marco are in New York City right now! Tonight they are with Todd and Lisa, and tomorrow I will meet them for brunch and see what's up for the week of their stay. I am hoping that by tomorrow I will be able to leave the house for more than a half an hour without becoming exhausted and grumpy.

And now things get sad, but normal. I got paid on Thursday. So imagine my surprise when I learned I was $400 overdrawn on my checking account. How sad is that? However, this is not a bank mistake but a Jill mistake. Sure, sometimes I am lame, but usually I am not this lame. Oh well. I am expecting roughly $1500 worth of checks in the mail, and one of them is already a week late, and there's only so much of the world I can control. Things will get better. But they will get better s l o w l y.

And there are whole wide swathes of my life that remain happy regardless of the cash problem. For instance: Gus! Marilyn's in town this weekend for her birthday. And did I mention Marco and Evany are in town? All good.

11:08 p.m. - October 11, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me