is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

light, shadow and blog.

This year I work right across the street from the Empire State Building. Every time I leave my own rather nice-looking building to run an errand or grab some food or go home, there are tourists outside taking photos of the Empire State. The attractive but understated Graduate Center building is too reserved to express jealousy over this, but I'm sure she must feel a bit like how I felt in college when, wherever I went with Heidi, I was like a shadow next to her tallness and shining-forth-ness. The feeling involves no resentment of Heidi or the Empire State, who are well worth gazing upon. The feeling is, rather, the impetus of a questioning relationship to a world with an attention span of such limited focus. That is how I imagine the Graduate Center building must "feel" about its proximity to the Empire State Building. She's like Yosemite's North Dome next to El Capitan or Half Dome.

In other news, I've been reading and writing some new blogs. I've mentioned Alison's blog about street art and the role of images in general in human life before. And I've been reading Todd's blog forever without managing to link to it. This is a particularly hilarious piece of writing he did recently. Heidi has started a blog about her recent and possibly temporary exit from her addiction to World of Warcraft. I know nothing at all about gaming but am finding the blog really interesting and funny. And Vintage Microwave, Stephen and Jessica's hilarious blog about free postings on Craigslist is still going strong. Gene is still blogging Something out of Nothing. Finally, copying the brilliance of Evany, who sometimes photo-blogs about, oh my god, what she's wearing, I've started a photo blog devoted to my shoes called Today from the Knees Down. Most days (except when I'm in Philly), I photograph the day's shoes and then write a tiny essay about them and my love for them. I'm thinking of also starting little photo blogs for my favorite pieces of art, jewelry, and clothing. But there are only so many hours in a day, so we'll see how that goes.

Anyway, I've now got permanent links to all of the aforementioned blogs in the right margin of this webdiary, all the better to help you (and me) procrastinate semi-virtuously, reading the work of others, when we need a break from work or what-have-you.

11:27 a.m. - November 09, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me