is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

egghead on a train.

last night I said to gus: "does my forehead look too huge when I wear my hair like this?" he had that look like I might be crazy when he said, "um, no." so I said, "ah, good. so I don't look like mr. peanut?" after an appropriate pause he said, "no. you just look r e a l l y smart." HA!

right now I'm on the train from center city in philly to haverford, to see a doctor. and so i'll point out that all the stops on the way to haverford's vicinity can be phrased as dark opposites. overbrook becomes underbrook. merion is meri-off. narbeth... narDEATH. wynnewood, and she says LOSEwood. ardmore becomes ardless just as bryn mawr can bryn less. and then there's haverford aka takerford.

last night I was wishing for a world where I could live according to the commandment "lead us not into penn station." penn station combined with the holiday season is particularly frustrating. that was compounded by the fact that I had to stop by the post office at macy's on my way. macy's herald square in december, oh man and it's beginning to look a lot like christmas, by which I mean, families and couples arguing. but the somewhat secret post office on the 9th floor is a gem because of its relatively short lines!

still, in order to get there you have to negotiate the sidewalks outside. oy. and then when you get to penn station, barely on time to catch the last non-rush-hour (cheaper) train, there's a man pausing at the top of the escalator, looking confused, turning back slowly to his wife to ask a question, when all of a sudden new york and california combine in me to produce Jill Yelling "DUDE! either GET on the escalator or STEP to the SIDE!"

he got on the escalator.

meanwhile in the duane reade inside penn station the clerks were so anxious to ring up patrons that they kept saying NEXT before finishing up the current transaction, then getting irate when whoever was NEXT did not immediately step forward. I was nonetheless thankful for my san pellegrino and the speedy ire of the clerks.

but when it comes to cake-taking there is only trenton station, where I transfer for philly. they've been remodeling it for YEARS and yet still it has neither restaurant nor drug store. it is beyond my capabilities of comprehension to understand how this could be the case.

11:55 a.m. - December 13, 2008
josiah leet - 2008-12-15 01:33:47
y'know, I used to come here for the philosphy...now I come here for the poetics, truly I do...those train station apposites are spot-on. And a nice stitching together there of 'Christmas/families/ couples arguing...' Dude...totally.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me