is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it will be the paper that suffers.

Sometimes when I come to California I don't have a car, and that is fine most of the time, though there are some destinations that are harder to get to without a motor vehicle. But right now I have three cars. Three cars! It's funny, is it not? Three cars and a dog who keeps sighing because he misses Adam and Julia. Sure, he'll snuggle with me and run up and down hills and stuff, but I am not the real thing and he knows it. DogSigh. When I drive HuxleyDog around somewhere I take one of the housesit cars (one of which is a very fun-to-drive Mini Cooper), but mostly I've been rolling in the Honda Insight, which is my Dad's. It's a Super Low Emission vehicle (SULEV) and so it is TOTALLY LEGAL for me to drive in the carpool and commuter lanes even when I'm by myself. That saved me a huge load of time (and frustration) when I was making my way out to Vallejo late this afternoon for a Dad-visit. However, the commuter lanes don't start until you get over the Bay Bridge, and even if your car gets 50 mpg it doesn't help you get from Glen Park to the Bay Bridge any faster. That is one godforsaken stretch of crowded highway a few days before xmas. Oy.

And man. I've never really experienced the holiday season as stressful before this one. Sure, there's stuff going on in my larger life outside bloglandia that really could and does cause stressful feelings. But I can't help but think that I've got a lowgrade cold or something, or my flu shot made me semi-sick. Because I'm exhausted.

But that might also be because I have so much to do, and have actually been doing most of it. I keep wishing for more sleep and/or more hours in the day. That's like a cartoon of someone during the holiday season, all grumpy and stressed about the preparations that go into joyous activity... when usually I'm the other holiday cartoon, the jolly lady decking the halls and turning star-shaped cookies in graduated sizes into 3-D cookie-sculpture xmas trees.

Oh, it's not that I haven't done any of that. I just spent a couple of hours trying to simulate those candy/frosting-coated circus animal cookies. So far not so good.

So I'll leave out the boring stuff, like work and driving all over creation to take care of business, and the revising of a paper that is KILLING me.

But, more important than that: Marco and Evany had a fun fun party the other night, and the next time I eat a dinner-meal it will be out and about with Caroleen and Liz and possibly some other holders of my SF heart. (You know. I left it here.)

Gayle and I had a long conversation at M&E's party about how rough it is to live somewhere other than San Francisco. I'm sure you're all sick of that theme by now from me so I'll cut it short and save it for a day when I'm feeling more poetic, so I can at least do my repetitive theme justice.

I also miss Gus. But he'll be here in a few days, and for that I'm thankful.

And now I'm off to bed, so that I might wake up early enough to make a lasagne and a white spice cake, revise (or rewrite) an impossible paper, wrap some presents and write some cards, drive to the Mission to sign some legal documents, then meet my ladies for some food and conviviality.

I'm not sure I can do all that in one day. But we do what we can.

10:59 p.m. - December 22, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me