is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get Crafty. And: Under the Spell of Yellow.

Hey. I just added some new items to the etsy store, and more are coming, so check it out (just click on the links to your right if you're interested).

I haven't been sleeping well lately. Sometimes it just happens like that. I'll catch up sooner or later. But recently, when I wasn't sleeping, I was thinking about how the dominant color in 70s-era film is yellow. Or at least my memory, as I was thinking about 70s-era film, was that yellow is the dominant color. It's a funny thing, laying in bed, looking at darkness, thinking about a memory of what something you haven't seen for awhile looks like. But, in that 70s-era film-type I was thinking about, yellow ruled the day. Blue is there, but only blue as it is on its way to green (by means of yellow), and same with red (being more like orange, because of yellow).

Then I thought of the house I lived in, in the 70s. And it was full of yellow, and green, and orange. Yellow kitchen. Green living room. Orange dining room and television room. Green music room. Yellow master bedroom.

Exceptions include: white sewing room, white pantry, light blue walls in my own room, and my sister's, and a pink room full of toys. (It was a big house. We lived in Ohio, in a nice green friendly and diversely-populated suburb where land values were lowish and middle class people had largish houses. In our case it was a big brick house. With yellow trim.)

So I wonder... is it the film stock that puts everything under the spell of yellow, or is it just that yellow presided over the color palette of the time?

9:49 p.m. - February 24, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me