is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Birds and Books.

I'm working on a bunch of new bird-themed jewelry right now... I just posted a new necklace to the etsy site, and more will come soon, in a week or so. I'll also be doing a bunch of multi-strand necklackes with various adornments. Stay tuned. I seem to have evolved beyond my early troubles with weak links and tangling with multi-strand necklaces, as I've been successfully wearing a bunch of my recent creations without tangling and breakage for the past few months. All good.

Regarding good novels. I recommend:

Special Topics in Calamity Physics, by Marisa Pessl

What is the What, by Dave Eggers

Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell

The Intuitionist, by Colson Whitehead

Brief Interviews with Hideous Men, by David Foster Wallace

Anything ever written by Jeanette Winterson.

Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley

The Childen's Hospital, by Chris Adrian

Anything by Jane Austin or Charlotte Bronte. I'm also really fond of George Eliot, but her novels are really really long and, so say some, boring.

That's a starter list.

6:41 p.m. - February 27, 2009
Anna - 2009-02-28 00:14:24
Eliot's novels are a bit slow starting (like most Victorian Novels) but they draw you in pretty quickly. Silas Marner is short. x
-------------------------------
Sarah - 2009-02-28 01:00:09
Thanks for the reading list! Will reprioritize "Special Topics in Calamity Physics" ASAP.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me