is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh. so you're the bar car.

the stauffer clan are the kind of a clan that tends to think certain jokes are always funny, no matter how often you tell them.

for instance, whenever I'm at st. francis (my favorite brunch place in SF), as I just was, and I don't see levon (its owner, and an old friend of mine), I like to picture him in the back office, leaning back in a chair, steeltoe boots propped up on his desk, using flaming hundred dollar bills to light a cuban cigar. I believe liz dunn is the originator of that joke, and it is always hiLARious.

another example. my sister and I, along with my dad and his wife, have taken amtrak back and forth across the country numerous times. we do it the fancy-ish way, in sleeping compartments. I love it, but it's not for everyone. anyway, there's a concierge there to do stuff for you during the day, and every night at some point he signs off duty over the speaker system in the 1st class car. he tells you when he'll be back on duty, wishes you a nice evening, and then advises you to feel free to patronize the bar car if you'd like drinks or snacks. so, my sister and I, without fail, every time that happened, and many times since, even when we're nowhere near a train or a concierge, would affect an exaggeratedly patronizing tone and say to each other, "oh. so you're the bar car." hiLARious. always.

not everyone can stomach joke repetition. I understand why. but you can't stop me.

this morning, as I sat in the lovely front window table at st francis, thinking about levon burning money and smoking cigars, levon emerged from the back office and came and sat with me. he had a shopping list. he was on his way to costco to buy some bulk vegan mayonnaise, etc. it's crazy how he's burning hundred dollar bills one minute and the next he's shopping like the owner of a diner. once he saw my suitcase, he was totally ready to drive me to the airport! awesome. except that costco is near SFO and I am flying out of OAK. sad trombone. but it was still nice to get a chance to say hi before I blasted out of town after such a short visit.

in other news, last night liz picked me up at BART and drove me to mission hill saloon, where sunny was working. sunny made me two TASTY margaritas, and liz and I had a fun conversation during which we hatched some excellent vacation plans. it was the perfect end to a hectic visit.

posted by sidekick 3, on BART to oakland.

11:09 a.m. - March 16, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me