is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

different but the same.

If you wonder why I hesitate to buy a $12 bag of chocolate (as if the $20 shipping fee weren�t enough of a deterrent), consider this: my vacuum cleaner is broken. I have tried fixing it. No go. However, currently I cannot afford to buy a vacuum cleaner. It has been this way for months. I am not exaggerating about my financial situation. I have unpaid bills. So today I cleaned a whole 5 by 7 foot rug with packing tape. I am nothing if not resourceful. And right now you are probably nothing if not sad contemplating the scene of me cleaning that rug. It�s OK�it�s cleaning day.

(Yeah, right. It�s cleaning day and that is why I am typing a diary entry right now instead of CLEANING THINGS.)

Which brings me to this funny little special Olympics for Brooklyn hipsters.

It�s slow, but that�s OK. My favorite parts are when they compete at how bad they can make a �normal� person feel about what he�s wearing, and then at the end when they try to outsmart each other with �x is the new y� statements. Awesome.

Don�t get me wrong� I love Williamsburg. But I also call it Logan�s Run, because no one there is over 30, or at least many W'burg denizens probably wouldn�t admit it if they were. Once there you will probably find some sneering and posing and wearing of improbable outfits. In fact it reminds me a bit of the lower Haight in San Francisco, circa 1993. Back then, I would have been in one of the improbable outfits. (Also, the Logan�s Run joke, which I stole from Linda, qualifies as one of those jokes that, for me, never stop being funny.) I like to visit W�burg, have some food and drink, gawk at wares in shops, undergo some meaningless judgments, and then return to my quiet and highly unfashionable little neighborhood in Crown Heights, where the corner store guys like to talk in Spanish about how stupid my pink motorcycle boots are. It�s different but the same.

2:20 p.m. - March 27, 2009
Vladimir Estragon - 2009-03-28 19:30:36
I like the original Monty Python "Twit of the Year" competition better, because the contestants kill themselves at the end.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me