is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Disjunctive Topics.

This morning I realized what bothers me about having long hair. Or, perhaps more accurately, why I miss having short hair. It's not only that I like not being able to see my own hair, and never having hair end up in my mouth when I'm trying to eat food, or blow in my face when it's windy and so on. It's that spending time on my hair makes me feel like a girl who thinks she's ugly. Heh. It makes no sense, really, since I like spending time on make-up-y things, on occasion. Maybe it's that I know I don't really have to wear make-up, or that there are short and long ways to do the make-up routine. But with the hair, ugh, I'm now bound to a routine that takes longer than I want it to. And, really, it only takes a few minutes. Except for the waiting-for-it-to-be-dry when it will inevitably be more frizzy than I want it to be at which point I'll have to add more hair product or something. But, yes, eureka: the problem is that spending time on my hair makes me feel like a girl who thinks she's ugly.

Plus, I'm still a short-haired person who happens to have long hair currently.

However, I have to say that the Prive Shining Weightless Amplifier is the best hair product ever invented by humankind. It works well. It smells good in a subtle way. It has the miraculous dual nature of being a gel that emerges out of a spray as a mass of bubbly foam. And it simultaneously moisturizes, makes shiny, smooths away frizz, and keeps curls intact. I believe it would also work well to keep hair straight if that were the goal. I recommend it to you with no reservations at all.

Also good, and much cheaper: the Sunsilk hair cream in its various incarnations. It only costs $4 and it works.

Hair and chocolate don't go very well together, but...

In other news, product-wise, I used to love Dove dark chocolate Promises, the tiny chocolates you buy in a bag. It made me laugh that they were called "Dark Promises," heh. (As opposed to "Milk Promises," which is just confusing.) I wasn't too fond of the stupid inspirational sayings found on the inside of every wrapper. But in general Dove made a good dark chocolate at an inexpensive price. But then they changed the formula! Now the bite-sized wrapped candies are different from the Dove dark chocolate bars. The attempt, it seems, is to make them more truffle-ish. So there's this gesture toward a "smooth" texture that really doesn't work at all. Luckily Gus doesn't mind so he will eat his way through the last bag I bought. And it will be the Last Bag. Goodbye, Dark Promises. Now I know what you meant by dark promise!

So I spend some time in the candy aisle wondering what could replace this necessary part of my dietary routine: tiny chocolates, of the dark variety, and good enough for my discerning palate. I can keep Recchiuti or Valrhona on hand for when I need the best chocolate. But on a daily basis, what will it be? Americans seems to love milk chocolate, which makes the selection difficult. This time I brought home Hershey's Nuggets in Special Dark with Almonds. And you know what? They're pretty damn good.

It would be nice if Hershey's started taking their special reserve chocolates and putting those in nugget form. But until then, Special Dark (which is basically a bit darker than semi-sweet, so probably about 60% cocoa.... my favorites are more in the 70% and 80% ranges) will do the job. Added bonus: almonds.

11:59 a.m. - April 28, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me