is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birthday shopping!

In addition to my great Tiffany and Fluevog birthday surprises, my sister and her family sent me a nice fat macy's gift card, because my sister knows that I would really like to do some SHOPPING. Project: Live within Means has seriously cut into my shopping ability lo! these many recent years. Sure, sometimes I sell things on eBay and buy things on eBay. But usually I just sell things on eBay and then use the money to pay bills, sadly.

So today I went to Macy's. They had some crazy huge sale this weekend. Luckily I went to Macy's in Philly, where things are much slower than in Herald Square New York. Sure, the selection isn't as great, but it's also a lot less overwhelming and a good place to start. I wasn't sure I'd meet with success, because let's face it this year is not the best year for dress styles that are right for my particular body type. But I found myself a really good summer dress, and I bought the shit out if using a discount coupon AND my gift card. KaPOW!

(Also, it's a size x-small? And I had to go for x-small because the small was too big on my, um, breasts? What world are we living in when something in the fairly hoity Macy's Impulse section isn't made for the more waifish shoppers? Strange. However all I care about is that the dress fits really well. It's just confusing and strange that on any given day a size 6 will be too small, a size 4 will be too big, and I resort to a size x-small in order to get my largest body part fitted well.)

But, really, when it comes to shopping, here is my current question: Where are all the summer-weight jackets? I see women WEARING them. But I've lived here now for two years and never have successfully located a jacket that I like that is also good for New York summer weather. WHERE ARE THE SECRET SUMMER JACKET SHOPS?

I have other questions, like: why I am in Philly if Gus is in DC helping his parents move? It seems ludicrous (or, as one of my John Jay students would have it in a paper she wrote, "ludacris"). But here I am, because I have meetings at Haverford tomorrow. And then I have to take the train right back tomorrow night because I have moderator-duty on 11 papers at the PhiloSOPHIA conference in New York on Wednesday and Thursday. But then I have to be back in Haverford on Friday. And then back in New York on Saturday for a birthday party. So, yes, NJ Transit and I are going to be getting even more cozy than usual this week.

Speaking of which, today on NJ Transit a young boy was pretending to shoot all the passengers from his seat next to his father. I contemplated asking him if maybe he had a silencer for his weapon. But then his father started lecturing him about how he needs to be a leader and not a follower. It's funny how different that lesson can sound in different circumstances, no?

And now it's off to bed full of hope that Gus's hellish upstairs neighbor lets me sleep tonight.

11:07 p.m. - May 25, 2009
laura - 2009-05-28 14:50:03
You may want to check out Zara for summer- weight jackets; I saw a few when I popped in there about two weeks ago.
-------------------------------
js - 2009-05-29 03:26:17
cool. thanks!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me