is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

going down and flying down.

here's something weird. my rent in new york is going down. DOWN! my building switched management companies and everything has been crazy, so when I got a new lease with all the wrong numbers on it, I figured it was a mistake. at first I was tempted to pretend I didn't notice and just pay the lower rent. but the monthly invoice kept stating the old rent amount. and also, the new lease had me recorded as having paid a much lower deposit than I had paid, and required me to pay more to make the deposit larger. no effing way was I going to do that, because I've already been told that i'll be losing my whole deposit when I move out before the year's up. (They wouldn't let me go month to month. I have little choice in the matter since my new place just isn't ready yet, and anyway losing the deposit is still cheaper than moving twice to avoid losing the deposit.)

anyway, I finally called the company to let them know they had sent me the wrong document. they checked their files. it was the right document. my current legal rent is approximately $150 lower than what I've been paying (which is astounding, since anyone will tell you that what I pay is already an amazing deal for a 2 bedroom). the woman on the phone told me that my new rent is the lower rent.

then I brought up the deposit and she said she would have to see proof of payment to credit me for more. and you know what, I AM ORGANIZED. I still have the stubs from the money orders I used to pay the deposit over 2 years ago, as well as the receipt and the lease I signed. I didn't even have to call the bank. I mailed those off and she let me know the next day that she would credit my account for the OVERpayment of deposit. So, yay, when I lose my deposit, I will lose a bit less.

but who ever heard of an already cheap new york rent going down? luck be a tenant tonight.

in the meantime tiger the cat is still living in the trash heap outside my window (the trash heap that was reported as "cleaned up" in january 2008).

and right now I am on BART to sfo, to fly to LA to go to the tonight show with CONAN O'BRIEN with Liz Dunn. superyay.

11:11 a.m. - June 08, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me