is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to see or not to see.

If I�ve been blogging less it�s probably because I�ve been living more. I was a much better blogger during the years that I spent most of my time alone and in part-time teaching jobs. When I look back at that writing I sometimes wish I was still creating good/funny/entertaining and/or thoughtful diary entries more often. But my life is probably better now, in every other way.

When I was in San Francisco for three weeks I managed to see four movies. I saw The Hangover, Away We Go, UP in 3D, and The Proposal.

I saw The Proposal because that is what Evany Thomas wanted to do on her birthday. And everyone knows that what you do on a friend�s birthday is: anything that friend wants to do. Ha. But, turns out, my expectations for that movie were so low that I found it surprisingly entertaining. Evany and Caroleen thought it was pretty dumb. And it was. Caroleen is totally right that it was formulaic but also that it relied so heavily on all of us knowing what the formula for such a movie is that it didn�t even bother to fill in parts of the formula. Like: exactly when did �he� fall in love with �her,� since he had hated her all along and then all of a sudden he�s racing to the airport to stop her from getting on the plane? Anyway, the main reason I found the movie entertaining is that Ryan Reynolds is just really good at most everything he does, and comic timing is one of those things he does best. I haven�t seen him in X-Men yet, but I thought he did a good job in Adventureland playing an aging loser. I�ve been a fan of his since waaaay back, when he was on a funny but never-quite-there show called (and here�s an �ugh� of a title) �Two Guys, A Girl, and A Pizza Place.�

Also, Caroleen smuggled in some cream puffs from Beard Papa. All good. Then Evany did a selection of big-pregnant-belly dances for us, and we all laughed really hard.

Sunny, Leisa, Caroleen, Scott and I saw The Hangover on a chilly evening in Daly City. I also approached that one with low expectations. I went in saying: �if it makes me laugh out loud three times I�ll be satisfied.� Even though I love Zach Galifianakis, I wasn�t sure that The Hangover wouldn�t be a total unfunny sadfailure. But you know what? It was funny! It made me laugh many more times than three. I would even see it again, given the appropriate conditions.

The next day I went by myself to see �Away We Go.� Normally Evany totally would have gone to see that with me, but since it is about a very pregnant couple trying to figure out how to live, and she is currently part of a very pregnant couple, we both agreed that right now might not be the best time to see it. So I went on my own.

I thought it was perfect and lovely. It was funny and heartwarming and smart and sad and strange, and all in the right measure. I may be partial, since it was written by two friends of mine. But I felt it hit all its targets perfectly. I was surprised, later, when I read some reviews, that some reviewers didn�t like it. And others liked it but still felt the need to be snarky about it. Like the New York Times guy who decided that the movie was looking down on him. Sure, there are a bunch of caricatured strange characters scattered throughout the film. But most of them bear a real resemblance to reality, and most of them are not totally discardably hate-able. What struck me about the NYT reviewer�s point, however, that the movie was looking down on him, was that in order to come to that conclusion, he would have to have identified himself with only the worst characters in the film, instead of with the best. And then the question erupts: why?

So I couldn�t really take his point very seriously. It was as if we hadn�t seen the same film. Or maybe he just doesn't think very highly of himself.

And then Evany and I, along with E�s old friend Shree, when to see UP. In 3D. It took me by surprise. First of all, I don�t normally go to see the kid�s films, even though I�m well aware that many many adults enjoy them. I just don�t end up there, for some reason. But, much like with the old Looney Tunes, there was plenty of humor aimed at adults. But then, man!, there was so much sadness! The whole freaking movie is about aging and regret and loss! I was sobbing within 10 minutes. SOBbing. Lots of liquid all over the face, and no tissues anywhere. Oy. But it�s all well done and I recommend it, with the caveat that you should not forget to bring your travel-size facial tissues with you.

6:37 p.m. - July 04, 2009
sduckie - 2009-07-06 04:34:43
Glad you posted- have missed it. And thanks for informing about all the movies! I have wanted to go see Hangover.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me