is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am conducting an experiment. (+1 update)

Some of you may be old enough to remember how, somewhere between four and five years ago, a kind trend researching friend of mine paid me to use an epilator and then BLOG about it, because BLOGGING is where it's at.

If you don't remember that far back, and want to read about it, it's here and here.

Well, today, when I was taking a break between unexciting jobs I had to complete, I decided to experiment. So I took out The Ice Princess aka the Norelco Satin Ice Epilator and fully de-haired one leg. Holy Shouch. All that work I did years ago to get to the point where it didn't hurt much was lost in the couple of years when I lost interest in electric hair removal machines and stuck to good old-fashioned shaving. (Oh how I love the Venus razor, btw. Also: the Skintimate Alluring Avocado shave cream.)

So I used a machine to rip all the hair out of one leg. And then I shaved the other leg. I don't know why it never occurred to me before to do it this way. Now I will have, over time, a way of comparing the results and deciding which is better.

On day one shaving is the clear winner. No pain and a much smoother leg. Epilated leg looks like it has been through a very hard battle. But maybe it will hold its own over time, as shaved leg starts to stubble up? I'll let you know how it goes because I know you are FASCINATED.

Right now I'm trying to sleep but a helicopter is hovering over my apartment building. I mean, like RIGHT OVER IT, so that it's making the building shake. The same thing was going on but not so close a few days ago, and I learned the next day that a young guy got shot on the street about five blocks away after what had been a nice afternoon block party.

Man, it's dangerous to be a young guy, especially a young black-skinned guy, in a city in this country.

But it has been quiet all night in my family-oriented section of this neighborhood so I wonder what's going on with the monster-copter. Maybe Henry Louis Gates, Jr., is in town. (Yeah, that was a bad joke. But I wish it weren't a joke I could make right now.)

UPDATE #1: On day two my legs are tied. No, they are not in knots. I mean that they are at the same stage of fairly smooth but not entirely smooth-ness. So far I guess that's my complaint about the epilator in general: it never produces the utter smoothness that a newly shaved leg possesses. However, its fairly-smooth-ness lasts longer.... in any case, the experiment continues.

11:57 p.m. - July 22, 2009
sduckie - 2009-07-23 16:05:06
Yes I am fascinated, mostly how you can use that Epilator thing at all- I think I had one for about five minutes and only removed two hairs before I decided I just couldn't take the pain...!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me