is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are you a POlice or a Basketball Player?

Tonight, when Gus walked up to our apartment building in Brooklyn, a young kid on the stoop said to him, "Excuse me sir, are you a POlice or a basketball player?" Gus was confused. So he said, "um, WHAT?!" Young boy said, "are you a cop?" Gus said, "NO!" Then he walked in and told me the story.

It's a funny world, where Gus would be considered to be any of those things: a sir, a POlice, a basketball player. At first I was all, well, you're a straight-laced white guy? And tall? It could also be that I have a John Jay tote bag that I use, and everyone knows that's a cop school. Who knows.

After much discussion, we decided that, if it has to be just those choices, that I'm a POlice and he's a basketball player. And you? What are you? Are you a POlice or a basketball player? CHOOSE NOW.

Then, as we were watching the Yankees play the Red Sox, and I was commenting on how lazy they all are because no one has scored any runs yet and it's like the 10th inning, one of those GEICO commercials come on. And it occurred to me that Rockwell is making money every time one of those commercials plays. Good lord! Have you heard that song lately? (You know, "Somebody's Watching Me," with Rockwell rap-singing with a quasi-British accent, backed up by Jermaine Jackson in the chorus?) Oh. Man. It is so bad. We You Tubed it to make sure we remembered how bad it was.

We also learned that Rockwell is Berry Gordy's son. Oh.

Then we were talking about how you can't buy any beer after like the 7th inning or something at the baseball games out here, to cut down on rowdy fan-fighting, so I sang a line from that song "Closing Time," and Gus looked confused, so I had to You Tube that to prove that it's a song a girl could sing. It is a song that begins with a very lovely pop hook, OK? And there is no shame in that.

10:55 p.m. - August 07, 2009
me - 2009-08-08 08:19:05
I Strongly think your crazy
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me