is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as foretold.

yesterday went pretty much exactly as I predicted. I got over the insomnia-inspired anger and despair. no one at the 4 hour meeting knew I was exhausted. and then the way home felt like slow punishment. except it was exacerbated by two factors:

I had arranged to meet the tech guy at my office at 2 so he could install a computer. he stopped by earlier in the day and dropped off the computer. but he was given the wrong office number. and in the meantime someone had walked off with the master key, so we couldn't get into the neighboring office to get my computer. so we called security. an hour later they still weren't there.

I went upstairs to make some photocopies for my course reader. but the admin asst wasn't there. for a long long time. the copier had some sort of authorization code thing so I couldn't do anything. I went back downstairs. still no security arrival, no computer, and my office is freezing with superdamp airconditioner air. it looks like whoever turned a large room into two offices built a wall over exactly where you can control the temperature to the HVAC unit. so I decide to go home. at this point I could have gone home TWO HOURS earlier, and napped with abandon, with the same net result, work-wise.

as I begin my 10-15 minute walk to the train station, it starts raining. POURING. plus thunder. total flash flood. I am basically drenched and walking in ankle deep water. at least my umbrella keeps some of my upper torso and head dry. a nice person in a car stops to ask if I need a ride, but doesn't know where the train station is and wants me to explain, which seems crazy to me, so I thank her and keep walking. (1- did she or did she not intend to offer a ride? 2- the train station is basically across the street from the college entrance towards which she was driving. everyone knows where it is.)

I keep walking, getting more drenched and sad. and then, as I am nearing the train station, let's say I'm 20 steps away, some utter asshole takes joy in totally soaking me with a curb plume. he looked at me and laughed.

I am not a revenge-seeking type, but I do hope he took the next corner too fast, hydroplaned, skidded out, totalled his car, and gave himself a back injury that will haunt him every time it rains for the rest of his life.

froze on the train due to the air conditioning plus my wet wet clothing.

finally got home, put on dry clothes, went to kitchen. no food. none at all. I thought there was cheese for a sandwich but there is nothing. (later it turns out gus put the cheese... in the butter compartment?) I got in bed. and right then the hellacious upstairs neighbor gets home and starts dropping and rolling things on the floor. I have no idea what it is she's doing up there but she does it all the time. she finally settles down, and then thurgood the cat jumps down from the bed and starts battling with a paper bag. it is all very sadmaking. then gus gets home and is nice enough to make me a grilled swiss and mushroom sandwich with dijon.

I send him off to the party without me and stay home and watch 5 hours of TV. then the day finally ended.

3:06 p.m. - August 22, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me