is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

out of gas.

Here I present unto you the Dodge Challenger. It is well-named. In this vehicle joy and aspiration lead to disappointment and then to outright anger. Here is why.

When Gus and I were in Maine, I saw one of these at the car rental place. It was gorgeous, an apt update of the classic muscle car. I am from California, so I do love a good muscle car. I thought to myself, upon seeing it, wow, I might buy an American car some day. How exciting that I might be able to have a muscle car without destroying the earth (because the old muscle cars got like 10 miles to the gallon, which is just unforgivable).

So when I got home from Maine I checked the specs for this car and you know what? It is totally affordable, relatively speaking. But. And for this next statement I think all caps are in order: IT GETS 16 to 19 MPG IN THE CITY. Fucking sixteen miles per gallon. 25-27 on the highway.

That is just not good enough. It is also one of the most fuel efficient cars Dodge is offering this year or next. Have the car companies learned nothing?

The 2010 Audi A5 gets 22 and 30 mpg. The Mini gets 28 and 37.

I'm no car expert but I think this is a lost opportunity. I can't be the only one who would want the Dodge Challenger but refuse to buy it at its current level of fuel efficiency.

11:37 a.m. - October 04, 2009
bensy - 2009-10-04 21:03:22
whoah -- i never would have figured you for a challenger. i know californians can be into muscle cars, but northern californians? (i can be, i'm from indiana.) anyhow, the epa now is much stricter on mileage reporting, so while some cars look like they get worse gas mileage now than they did five years ago, it's really b/c the standards got more honest. that said, 16 mpg is a damn shame. they oughtta be embarrassed.
-------------------------------
meow - 2009-10-06 03:33:06
Dude. It's the Hemi. But yes, i saw the f out of that car the other day too and lusted over it. But i had the same issues with the charger. love the muscle - hate the gas mileage. oy. what's a girl to do?
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me