is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

powers of invisibility.

the theme of today's travels is: jill is invisible.

there's the lady who tried to get into the bathroom before me because she did not see me standing in front of her in line.

there's the lady who wouldn't wait for me to duck out of the way so she could pass by me in the aisle, in threw me into an innocent seated gentleman with her ass.

and there's the man who stood above my seat and directed a long series of sickening hacking coughs on me. directly. on. me. then he turned around and rubbed his ass on the side of my head, even though he is not fat.

it is like a state of nature up in here, where each person is alone against all the others.

so, coughing guy, when I look at you and gesture at you as I just did, it means that I have no choice but to kill you, because it is kill or be killed in the land of savage butt-rubbing contagion-wielding nincompoops. but you aren't aware of your own present danger, apparently, because I am invisible.

also, your kids are unforgivably loud and unruly, and apparently they can't see me either, or they would stop kicking my chair and splitting my skull with their screams. or perhaps you would think at least to try to tell them not to do such things.

pause.

and then, all of a sudden, an old old lady dressed all in shocking magenta velour tracksuit bends over and says, only to me, "I have to keep walking around because I just got out of the hospital after having a heart attack."

then she was gone before I could say anything in response. I wonder whether I'm the only one who sees her.

the other possible lesson to be learned: I may be getting too old for southwest airlines. it may not be cheap enough to compensate me for dealing with everything that comes with its price tag.

it's too bad virgin and jetblue don't fly out of philly.

oh, I'm sure i'll still line up to buy trips everytime there's a coast-to-coast fare sale.

posted by sidekick in the chicago airport, between OAK and PHL.

3:36 p.m. - October 17, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me