is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

item in photo is better than it appears.

Last week I won the best-ever vintage Betsey Johnson skirt on ebay for only $14. It was only $14 because that was its starting price and I am the only one who bid on it. And I am the only one who bid on it because the quality of the one tiny photo of the item was so bad that you really couldn't tell what the hee-haw that thing in the photo was. Is it a skirt? A messed up scarf? Someone's old belt?

So why would I bid on such a thing? Because I am one of those people with such a photographic memory of every Betsey Johnson item I once wanted but couldn't afford that I can recognize one of those items on eBay even when it's 15 years later in a terrible terrible photo.

Oh, gorgeous black satin perfectly proportioned A-line skirt with one tough row of studs down the right side. You are now mine. For $14.

A related story: Dude. When you sell things on eBay make sure you take good photos. And multiple photos. People will always pay more when they can see what you are asking them to pay for.

But, until then, dude, I will continue to take your items for much less than they are worth. Thanks also, eBay neophytes, for the $7 Dansko clogs and the various $9 anthropologie tops and skirts.

Semi-related story: When I say "dude" I do not mean to say that I am addressing an audience of men. You knew that. Dude.

4:34 p.m. - December 02, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me