is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no parka on the dancefloor.

It finally got cold enough this weekend that it was time to take out my boyfriend parka. Last night, as Gus and I walked to Flatbush Farm for a perfect meal, he kept complaining about how cold it was, and even suggested stopping at a restaurant that was quite a bit closer to home before he changed his mind and held out for Flatbush Farm. I did not feel cold at all. A warm jacket is a good thing.

Which reminds me. I always used to wear a lighter coat to San Francisco when I returned for the holidays, since SF is in California and California is warmer than the east coast. I would have to shiver on my way to and from the airport, but the rest of the time it seemed like the best way to handle things. However. Last year I wore boyfriend parka II (electric bugaloo) back to San Francisco. And then I wore it all over San Francisco for the three weeks I was there. Thing is, I was never cold, and never too warm. Because let's face it, San Francisco is pretty cold in winter time.

The funny thing is, everywhere I went people were commenting on my "big" jacket or my "warm" jacket, as if it were a strange thing I was doing, wearing a coat warm enough to make me never resent being outside. Meanwhile, everyone around me was always shivering and complaining about how cold it was. And so I had an epiphany. All those years of shivering in California were not necessary! All along I could have had a boyfriend parka and all would have been well.

So now, the next time I am in SF and someone says to me, "hey, why are you wearing such a big/warm coat?", I am going to say, "why are you NOT?!"

The end.

The Triple 5 Soul parka is an amazing thing. And it comes in various cute colors, too. Sure, it can be pricey. But sometimes you can find one on eBay. That's how boyfriend parka II and I came to be joined.

In other news, Flatbush Farm is still perfect. Gus and I went there last night. I had a Ciccone Boom to start things off just right. It is a mixture of prosecco and limoncello in the rocks that makes me feel like a superhero. Then we split a salad of local greens and marcona almonds that was perfect. The ratio of herbs to greens, the lemon viniagrette, the amount of viniagrette, the greens--all just right. Then he had a huge plate of meat and I had the most amazing ricotta gnocchi I've ever had. They were topped with chanterelles and fire-grilled squash pieces, and a parsley pisto. And they were the most amazingly tasty creamy cheese miracles I have ever encountered. I joined the clean plate club.

And then we split warm chocolate cake (not molten, mind you, but warm) with a passion fruit foam on top (whatev, but tasty) and some vanilla gelato.

I also had a glass of sauvignon blanc after the ciccone boom.

Plus I had my cute cute boyfriend sitting across the table from me, in a well-decorated restaurant with just the right amount of light to make everything look better.

There was nothing at all wrong with that evening!

And that was a good thing, since spending a weekend packing up a house is no fun at all.

I move a week from today. And now, back to Philly to go to my job.

12:05 p.m. - December 07, 2009
Anna - 2009-12-07 18:13:52
Yeah - as a Brit, I expected SF to be warm in April, but it really wasn't. I wore Ugg boots instead of flip flops and was very happy with my warm feet when all around were shivering.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me