is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MJUK 365+

I think you know that, historically speaking, I have had sleeping troubles. Not in a chronic way (and, sure, those two sentences seem contradictory, that I could have a non-chronic sleeping problem to which history could attest), but in a cyclical or episodic way. Sometimes I just don't sleep well for a period of time.

Gus thinks I have a big sleeping problem because he has no sleeping problems at all. He just lays down and then, like 30 seconds later, he's sleeping.

Of course, he also has a lot of bad dreams and shaking-leg running-man nights and snoring. Sometimes those intersect badly with my bad sleeping nights. Other times all is well.

But mostly I sleep very well. I've already written about the philosophically humorous irony of how sometimes I am kept awake thinking about Levinas' idea of insomnia. I've written about the perils of loud neighbors, some funny, others just annoying. And I've even offered make-up tips and coping strategies for the day after.

But today I write with glad tidings from on high, otherwise known as IKEA. Two weeks ago when I went to IKEA and bought a chair and some crap, I also bought a pillow. A contoured memory foam pillow for side and back sleepers. And it is magical.

It says on the directions (that's right, it has directions) that it might take you a bit to get used to the pillow. And that's right. The pillow feels different from a "normal" pillow. But I gave it a whirl and within a couple of days I was falling into a deep motionless sleep interrupted only by my small bladder, the cat or Gus snoring. I recommend you go right out and spend your own $23 for one of these lovely contraptions named MJUK. Dude. You can even buy it online, thereby avoiding the swedish death march of the salesroom.

Teaching starts tomorrow. I am thankful for the last two weeks during which Gus and I got to start to make order out of the chaos of our two moves into one place (each of us having moved stuff from multiple locations in not always perfectly labeled boxes). During that whole two weeks it never mattered that we don't even have a clock in the bedroom yet, because we didn't have to be anywhere in the morning, or even in the afternoon. That is how life should be! At least part of the time.

10:13 a.m. - January 18, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me