is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cliq.

I spent many happy years with my sidekick, the Sidekick. Sidekicks 1, 2 and 3 all served me well. But it is over. Sidekick 3 died and I went shopping for a new phone. I didn't really like the Sidekick LX or the other unnamed Sidekick currently on the market. So what to do? I considered the Motorola Karma (strangely square, keyboard too small, but otherwise cute and tiny), the google phone (too bulky and not cheap enough to compensate for its clunkiness), and various other phones with keyboards at the at&t, tmobile and verizon stores. And then I settled on the Motorola Cliq. I got it in white instead of black. And I heart it.

Of course, I am not really enjoying having to learn how to use a new device, and I am also not enjoying having to retype everything but my phone numbers into a new device. The Sidekick has a proprietary system, meaning that it does not enable you to load your data into a new system, and I had collected lots and lots of data, calendar, notes and list entries over the years. All gone. Pain in the ass.

Luckily I was able to save my phone contacts onto the sim card that I moved from SK3 to Cliq, so that saved me a bit of typing headache. Also, the Cliq's motoblur system automatically uploads all of my data from facebook and any other account I add into the device, so that meant I didn't have t retype many email addresses. It's just the street addresses and various notes and calendar entries that I'm still catching up on.... Also, the Cliq runs the Android system, so I can download lots of apps to use--I found a good to-do list program, a notes program and a few other things so far. All good.

Last night when I was putting some things into a storage box, I found the Sidekick 1. It looks ridiculously, humorously large now. So I lined it up with the SK3 and the Cliq for a little photoshoot. (Apparently I recycled the SK2 when I got the 3.) Here they are, making the catwalk their own:

9:57 a.m. - January 19, 2010
Randy - 2010-01-20 03:00:32
My God! Sidekick 1 is huge! How did you ever lug that thing around?
-------------------------------
js - 2010-01-20 15:23:17
I was younger, stronger, and dumber then, thankfully.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me