is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i've got a feeling.

Gus and I are slowly getting over having a terrible terrible gastrointestinal flu. Apparently it is going around the Haverford campus. And it sucks. It is a hateful masterpiece of dire villiany. And I lost 4 pounds in 3 days. It was not worth it.

Gus got sick first. He made his famous shrimp curry and then right after dinner ran upstairs and started expelling all his bodily contents in all ways possible. It was terrible. We thought it was bad shrimp. Except that I was fine. After this went on for some hours, I started wondering whether we had to take him to the hospital. I went online to the Cleveland Clinic website and determined that we didn't need to go to the hospital until it had been 24 hours. By then it was 2am and I decided I would figure out where there was a 24-hour drug store so I could get some supplies.

So I went to a CVS in Ardmore, PA at 2 in the morning. Of course I was the only customer there. The clerk looked at me like there was something wrong with me. But she was the kind of teenager whose look probably also looks like "there is something wrong with you, you non-teenager." Plus, well, it was 2am in Ardmore. I walked up and down some aisles and then went up to the cash register with a 12-pack of ginger ale, some mouthwash, some saltines, immodium and some extra strength pepto bismol. No mystery about why I was there.

So it was funny when, after the clerk rang up my purchase, she said, without any sarcasm, "have a nice night!" Ha! Yes, miss, I will have a nice night with my pepto bismol and immodium and ginger ale and saltines and mouthwash. Huzzah!

And then I said to her, "you too!"... which, if you think about it, is equally absurd. "Have a great time working the overnight shift at a drugstore in Ardmore, PA!, young hipster"

1.5 days later I was stricken with the illness, and o! how terrible it was. It was seriously difficult to walk up and down the stairs, what with the weakness and the tiredness and the nausea and so forth.

The only good thing is that at least the onset of the illness was staggered so that neither one of us were the MOST sick at the same time.

Also, we have two bathrooms. Enough said.

3:03 p.m. - January 30, 2010
sduckie - 2010-01-30 20:41:33
Glad you're feeling better. I also find it ironic when one is nervously buying a pregnancy test and the clerk says have a nice day... or a pack of maxi pads and ibuprofen and a 5lb bag of chocolate... some things are just kind of obvious.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me