is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mud transporter.

I just washed a bunch of dirt from San Antonio, TX (where I forgot the Alamo but got drunk on the Riverwalk with a bunch of academics and two children) (the children weren't drunk) down the drain in Haverford, PA. Once you're outside of that walk-friendly Riverwalk area of San Antonio, it's like Los Angeles in one way only: no one walks there. (Do you hear me? Do you care?)

So I had to do some crazy pedestrian off-roading to get from my terrible hotel (no room service, no restaurant, and not near anything resembling food) to the UT San Antonio campus where I was attending a conference.

The conference was good. But man, there was a lot of mud, and no sidewalks, and no attention to what it would mean for anyone to try to walk anywhere.

Of course, Haverford, PA, being a suburb of a lesser U.S. city, also isn't too concerned with sidewalks. That doesn't stop me from walking to places that are within a mile or two--there are usually ways of getting there by foot that don't involve utter peril. And it's funny how strange people think it is when you tell them that you walked to meet them at a restaurant instead of driving.

And now I'm off to Providence, RI.

11:24 a.m. - March 18, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me