is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GET IN YOUR CAR!

In late 2008 I was really broke, and knew I had some more bills coming in, so I took on extra freelance work--an interview for a magazine, some writing for a website--even though I had a full-time job, etc. But of course in late 2008 everyone was broke and had more bills coming in. So the two extra jobs I took on never paid me. Never. Paid. Me. Sad Trombone. It SUCKED.

However, I recently got paid for one of those jobs! $300. That's kind of like a windfall, right?

At the time of this windfall-getting-paid I had been having a horrendous couple of weeks. Work work work and constant knowing I wasn't getting everything done that I needed to get done, and no downtime, and tired and all that. So on Monday I decided that I would, after my 5:30 meeting, drive Gus's car all the way out deeper into the suburbs to the Anthropologie in Wayne, PA, and buy the shit out of some cute tops for MYSELF.

I walked in the door of the Wayne, PA, Anthropologie at 7:10 and the girl at the counter who was ringing someone up said, in her terribly suburban teenage-girl lilt, "um, like, we totally close at sevennnnn." And I stopped, turned, and said, "DAMMIT. What am I doing in the SUBURBS!?" Because in my world every damn Anthropologie in that world closes at 9. NINE PEE EMM.

(This reminds me of the time during Haveford 1.0 when my friend Josh was calling me to join him at a bar in Philly, and I was all, wait, what train can I take to that neighborhood, and he was all WHY DON'T YOU JUST ADMIT YOU LIVE IN THE SUBURBS AND GET IN YOUR GODDAMN CAR?! And so I did, back when I had a car.)

I think, however, that what Wayne, PA was trying to tell me is that I should save my $300 for tomorrow, when I'll be walking around Soho in NEW YORK CITY.

My friend Alison is in NY from Australia for a week or so, and I'm going to meet up with her for a tasty dinner. It will be good to see her... it has been about three years now!

11:10 a.m. - April 08, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me