is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

predictions.

What happened was pretty much what I predicted. I decided it would be better to stay in Philly for my birthday and have a low-key number of days. I have enough work to do that there probably won't even be time for extra stuff like art projects, but I will spend Friday doing whatever I want, which will probably include walking around some local (mediocre, but with a good store here and there) shopping areas and then having a cocktail with a friend or two.

The classic new development is that, of course, when I sent an email out letting some NY people know that I had decided to stay in Philly, all of a sudden they were quick to return my emails and tell me I should come. I didn't exactly predict that it would happen that way, but it's not surprising. It's true that if I had gone to New York there would be things to do--even a prom-themed party at the house of a well-known artist. I had been looking forward to that, too. But it seems that what I really want right now is to enjoy a day that involves no hassle. No train rides or negotiating the various arguments about where to eat and how to get there and the inevitable latenesses of a night spent with the New Yorkers... (on a good day I just take all this as life in NY, because that's what it is) plus a number of them are off to Jamaica Saturday morning so it sounds like the timing is wrong anyway. What I wanted a week or so ago was just to have anyone say they would hang out on my birthday without me having to positively beg for it. Not too much to ask! But also not forthcoming. It's OK. It has been this way with this group of people for years, and I should have known.

And, again, it makes them sound like they aren't good friends. They are, and they do love me. But their ways are different from my main group of friends, most of whom still live in the SF area. I even asked Evany whether she thought I was over-idealizing that place and those people... but we both had to admit that it is almost inconceivable that if I were in SF I would have to do anything close to beg for a birthday celebration. It's a question of a different set of variables and values. And it's what I'm used to. So New York always felt foreign, not because of where it is, but because of who I relied on there.

What I want now is what I have--a few days to do whatever I want exactly when I want to do it. (Um, except for the three deadlines I have on Friday. Oh well. I took care of two of them yesterday, yay, and hope to get rid of the third today.)

Gus will be back on Saturday evening to take me out for dinner, and then we'll have brunch and a movie on Sunday. Plus he left a cute little cake in the refrigerator for Friday.

In the meantime I went grocery shopping on Tuesday before Gus left with the car and stocked up on food for the week. And, ha, what did I buy? Lots of healthy things to cook with, yes. But also: two kinds of sorbet, ice cream sandwiches, cool whip, an oreo cookie pie crust, and a pint of Haagen-Dazs Passion Fruit ice cream. (If you have not tried that ice cream yet, get thee to a grocery store post haste, buy it, and PUT IT IN YOUR MOUTH. It's in the line of products called Five because it only has five ingredients. It is perfection.)

So I made a strawberry sorbet pie with chocolate crust, coolwhip top, with fresh strawberries and chocolate shavings on top. It is awesome.

I promised Gus I wouldn't open the cake box until Friday, but I did peek in through the window on top of the box. I predict that it will be tasty.

11:55 a.m. - May 20, 2010
Sduckie - 2010-05-20 20:10:38
Happy Birthday, culpa... Sorry your plans not working out as you would have like originally. But I hope you have a great day and delicious cake!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me