is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beary Christmas!

Last night I went to The Eagle and saw so many of my favorites play! For those who have been reading this blog from Day 1, perhaps even you will feel some nostalgia.

First up was a short set by Cash Hollow, meaning my friend Gayle from UCB grad school days along with Arman, her go-to guitar-playing sidekick. Back in the day we used to go watch Gayle play all the time, at places like the Dovre (when it was still in the Women's Building), etc. It was so good to hear her sing again! She made me sad with her songs which is exactly what she was trying to do: SUCCESS. That needs to happen more often.

Then came The Upsets, meaning Sunny and Caroleen. Like I tweeted last night, no one can slay me with a song quite like Caroleen Beatty. It was just what I needed, too. They sounded great, and it was great to seem them playing. They were joined by Doug Hilsinger for a few songs, and Bruce, the old drummer from Waycross even joined them for an encore. Yay.

I love the songs Caroleen is singing right now. Sometimes when they sing the adapted-from-Waycross songs I find myself missing the heavier rocking, but that is not even a complaint. Just to hear Anatomy of a Pig and Boys Boys Boys and Wooden Star and Air Show and and and, and they even played Stay Ugly. It was a lot of excitement for me!

Then came the Golden Bears, made up of Seth and Juliana and Steve Perrone and Doug Hilsinger, and other people to whom in my by then drunken state I neglected to award due notice. But yes, that's right, Mr. Perrone was in the house rocking last night, and it was good to see and hear. He looks like no aging has happened to him in the past five years. In fact I suspect he may still be taking a time machine directly to each gig from somewhere in the foxy 1970s. Juliana leaned hard on the drums and sang her talented heart out. It was a great set.

And, since most of the members of the Enorchestra were there, they played one of those songs too. All yay.

You may remember that, since the Eagle is a bar for Bears, there isn't much of a ladies room situation there. In fact, a lady has to walk up onto the stage where the band is, work her way around the guitarist and back to a door at the back of the stage in order to take care of business with a toilet rather than a trough. Now there is the added bonus of there not even being a lock on that door. That's right, the door to the bathroom ON THE STAGE has no lock. Ha! Luckily I only got walked in on once, and it was by Gayle. Ah, the Eagle.

The Eagle! Evany was there, and Liz and Ivan, and Leisa, and Leah and Sophie. Amy Huber was there, and Leila, and Marilyn. Jeff Matt was there... my first sighting in many years. And I left it at the status of sighting, not speaking. I'm not sure why. I guess it's because I'm not sure why we would be talking to each other either. It's funny how someone who was once an important part of my life is now, well, just not. Perhaps what's even stranger is how long one can go, even in a tiny town like San Francisco, without bumping into someone whom one used to see everywhere. I guess 'tis also the season to note that time changes things.

In sum: What an awesome combination of great music, good and old friends, too much alcohol, and just enough nostalgia. Beary Christmas!

Here's a picture of Gayle and Arman!

And Caroleen and Sunny!

Enjoy your holidays and/or your time off!

1:34 p.m. - December 24, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me