is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Wedding Bride.

Today I went to a meeting at a nearby college and was the first there. So I immediately pulled up all the shades to let the sun in and turned off the buzzing florescent lights because I like natural light and the sound of buzzing lights makes me feel like my head is going to explode. It really, really bothers me, that sound.

Then another guy showed up and immediately lowered the shades and flipped the lights on. So I had to ask. "Why did you just do that?" He's all: "Because I hate it when the sun shines on me when I'm in a room. [pause] Oh, did you want the shades up?" I'm like: "I do prefer it, but I'll live."

So he put the shades back up... but he looked sort of unhappy, so I suggested that he could sit in one of the chairs away from the windows. Then he told a story about how he can never predict where the sun will end up, since it moves and everything. All true. And yet it seemed CRAZY to me.

But I guess to him it would seem just as crazy that I can't stand the sound of florescent lights? And that I am made happy by sunlight?

Note: it's February in Pennsylvania. The sun just isn't really coming into rooms right now.

I tell the story because it's funny, not to complain. Not to complain at all. Just: what a weird perfect-storm clash of idiosyncracies.

In a romantic comedy this would be the first scene leading to the last scene where he and I get married. In the real world, we'll manage to get along in meetings.

(The Wedding Bride is an episode of How I Met Your Mother.)

7:24 p.m. - February 11, 2011
Oona Eisenstadt - 2011-02-13 00:43:54
I don't think this calls for non-judgmental "I also look crazy to him" parity. He's just crazy. We're talking about a man who's made anxious by the movement of the earth around the sun.
-------------------------------
erik - 2011-02-13 03:47:58
it suggests to me that you are sane, and he is not.
-------------------------------
js - 2011-02-18 17:18:40
thank you both.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me