is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

point taken.

I was looking through my drawer full of bras recently, looking for a particular bra that had somehow gone missing, when I found, at the bottom, neglected, not the bra I was looking for, but an old strapless bra that had somehow… disintegrated. It still had roughly the same form it once had, but all of its interior parts (the padding, etc.) and some of its exterior segments (elastic, trim) had turned into a mass of lumpy oblivion. It had forgotten how to be a bra! I’m not sure how that happens, but here’s my non-scientific guess.

First, a slight tangent: If you have breasts my size then the phrase “strapless bra” is already ridiculous. There is no way a strip of elastic, no matter how wide or tight, or some molded cups, is going to hold up that load on its own. You’d need a full corset for that work. There was one of those built into the dress I wore at my sister’s wedding (photos here). It was awesome but not something I’d want to have to rock for anything less than a special event.

Despite all this, and my knowledge of it, I do remember wearing the strapless bra in question a couple of times a large number of years ago in an attempt to be able to do that casual strapless or bare shoulders thing that I sometimes envy in others. So my theory is that this particular strapless bra, having faced that battle more than once, simply said to itself “never again” and set about making it impossible for me ever to consider trying out that particular failure another time. It quietly self-destructed in my drawer to keep me from fooling myself about the possibilities available to my torso for dressing. Point taken.

10:02 a.m. - December 05, 2015

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me