is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

spending time.

Today I spent the day making cookies with my sister and nephew. If there were a prize for speed-sifting, my nephew would have that prize. I ate cookies, talked to my sister, laughed a lot. I also played hide and seek, engaged in some sort of battle with lego creatures, watched Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer and Paw Patrol. Later I ended up at my mom’s house. She made me mushroom stroganoff which was excellent and also tasted like nostalgia in the best of ways. We watched Jeopardy and The Property Brothers and caught up on various things. I wrapped some Christmas gifts. I read some more Elena Ferrante. At different points in the day I started writing blog entries about a few different things: my longterm identification with Rudolph (his is a story about ethics and exclusion that has had a deep impact on me); the Ferrante novels (so much to say but I’m also still not sure what I think, and I’m half way through the fourth one); what it means when North American courts hear indigenous oral history as evidence rather than hearsay (this is about the different ways people have of understanding the passing of time and the recording, remembering or retaining of events that matter). These are all potentially interesting things for me to write about. But something about the day has left me unable to make any of them hang together. Part of the problem is time: there is only so much of it. Today I chose to spend that time with people I love, since I don’t live near them anymore so I don’t often get to have that time. So let’s just say I did do some writing today. I also did a lot of other things, all of them important. I’ve got some half-baked ideas I could post just to live up to the blog-a-day challenge. But right now my brain has made it clear to me that I’m just going to have to let the writing sit overnight.

10:39 p.m. - December 22, 2015

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me