is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Love. Power. Mail.

Love. Power. Mail.

Here is a great quotation, told to me by the exceedingly wise professor in Memphis who now has my necklace. I made her say it three times so I could type it into my sidekick. Wow. Am I a geek or what? Anyway, the quote is from Jacques Lacan, and here it is: "Love is something that you don't have, that you give to someone, who doesn't want it." Ha! I never thought I'd find something stated by Lacan that I'd want to repeat.

CHANGE OF SUBJECT: When I'm teaching and it is time for papers to be handed in, I tell the students, "your papers are due on [DATE] at the BEGINNING of class. Not at the end of class, and not some other time later in the day." Still, in my history of teaching at Berkeley, a certain portion of the students would show up at the end of class, and others would put their papers in my mailbox later in the day. Without fail. What did I see, then, when I arrived in class on the day the first papers were due in the class I'm currently teaching here in Amherst? All the students, already in their chairs, a neat stack of papers on my desk! I hardly knew what to think. (I'm told by others that this is anomalous even at Amherst. But still!) I am DRUNK WITH POWER. Not really. But it was really, really nice not to have to deal with lateness and random excuses and finding out where papers were. Really nice.

NEW TOPIC: The mail has been exciting lately. Richard sent me the DVD of Triumph the Comic Insult Dog from Conan O'Brien's show. Caroleen sent me a great care package including a DVD of old MST3K episodes. I got some packages of things I ordered from teen catalogs. And Lou sent me a surprise list of ten things about me that are loveable. (Aw. Followed my cousin's lead.) Why don't all of you pick someone in your lives who is deserving, and send him or her a list of his or her loveable qualities. Come on. It makes you cooler, I promise.

11:33 p.m. - November 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me