is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New York, John Hughes, the Perils of Teen Romance.

New York, John Hughes, the Perils of Teen Romance.

I�m going to New York for the weekend in a couple of hours. Tonight is craft night at Linda�s, and we�re going to watch Sixteen Candles, because tomorrow night is Bill�s birthday party and he is having a Sixteen Candles theme. Oh Billions of McMillions McMullen! All of my wonderful 80s-appropriate gear is in San Francisco, and you have not even left me time to get it mailed to me! What will I wear!?

At first I thought I would dress as I did in the 80s, which doesn�t really match Sixteen Candles, but is funny anyway: mini skirt with some pointless kind of detail like buckles and straps, big boots, lots of jewelry, layered tshirts, hair sticking up with a pointless hair scarf tied somewhere in it. Come to think of it, except for the hair and scarf,, I still dress that way. It�s just the shape and colors of the skirts and Tshirts and jewelry that have changed).

But then Wendy called up and said that for craft night, instead of working on my paint-by-number statement series (which, I promise, I will reveal soon), I should bake the cake from the end of the film, the one that Jake shows up with and then they kiss over it while sitting on top of the dining room table. OMG!

Then I thought, hmmm, I�ll bet maybe Bill�s girlfriend already thought of getting such a cake? And maybe it�s not such a good guest move to show up with the birthday cake without being asked to do so? So I think instead I am going to BE the cake. (That�s right. Just as Luke Skywalker was the force, I can be the cake.) I am going to make a flat hat of a cake and dress all in pink and flowers. Or I�ll try to get ahold of Yuki to find out about her cake plans and then maybe also try to make a cake in Linda�s kitchen.

Saturday I�m going to walk through the brand new Christo reimagining of Central Park with Ramsay and Julia and their cute cute baby Amelia. Other things will happen, too, including me doing some work at some point, but the schedule is so far not set. I might even go do a scholarly thing at Cardozo law school on Sunday morning with Simon.

It is combination snow-raining right now. I hope the roads aren�t too hazardous, as I�m driving to New Haven and then taking Metro-North the rest of the way. Last night it rained all night, and do you know what�s really loud? Hard, cold rain-snow on a slate roof. Normally I find the sound of rain on a roof soothing. This was different. It was like trying to sleep in the basement beneath a shooting gallery. So I stayed up all night trying to figure out my taxes. Moving and working in multiple states is complicated!

Anyway�. I�m glad I�m going to NYC. It will be good to get some urban energy and do some walking around, and it will be good to see all my ladies, and some of the men. Apparently I am lonely here just now, because I keep finding myself wishing I had a date for Valentine�s Day. Ha. Ha. Ha. Normally I do not fall prey to such things. I�m sure the actual day will come and go unremarkably, and then I�ll find something else to use as the theme for my current semi-isolated status. Funny how the student/date controversy gave to me (and many who know me) fuel for much humor and madcap hilarity, but also inadvertently reminded me of just how un-dating I am right now.

A lot of people I know have talked about how their romantic expectations were, despite themselves, formed by John Hughes films like Sixteen Candles, and how that warps a person and makes them ill-prepared to face the realities of dating. I, however, still think that a guy is going to show up in a Lamborghini with a cake for me, and then we are going to live happily ever after even though the only part you'll see is the part where we've just kissed for the first time. We will NEVER BREAK UP. Because I am special. The. End.

I was just instant messaging with Evany and it reminded me that even though I have found myself wishing (on some unreflective level) for a date on Valentine's Day, I would be kind of embarrassed if I actually had one. Better to go out on any other day! Valentine's Day just ends up standing for Having No Prospects, rather than being about sweetness and passion. And that is why it should be destroyed. Remember: if you need a special day to remind you to be nice to your significant other, you have PROBLEMS.

1:00 p.m. - February 10, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me