is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Either The Astral, or Squirrels.

It's Either The Astral, or Squirrels.

Heidi wrote to say this about the possibility of my living kitty-corner from evil:

"When I moved moved east and got that storage unit in PA, it was in Bucks County. My brother called to let me know that Bucks County is, statistically speaking, the Most Haunted County in the USA. I don't know whether these stats, based on "reported hauntings" (?) were gathered by Catholic priests (called in for exorcisms--speaking of Catholics, the Vatican released an Official Paper outlining that Genesis is not in conflict with evolution, for what that's worth) or by some other agency. Tom assured me that, as this sort of statistic goes, it is True.
Are you in Buck's County? If so, the chances of that house being haunted are way higher than the norm.
My mother, of course, upon hearing that stat and its relation to my storage unit, called to let me know she was going to have a chat with The Astral to find someone to haunt my unit as a proactive measure. Which I thought was very sweet."

I am not in Bucks County. I am in Montgomery County, which is right next to Bucks County. Hopefully the fact that I am next to Bucks County and kitty corner from a house that resembles the Amityville Horror house will end up meaning very little. However I'm used to living with ghosts. I swear there were ghosts in my place in SF. I once tried to discuss this with one of my roommates and she made me shut up immediately not because she thought I was silly but because she preferred not knowing. Not that there is really anything one can "know" about living with ghosts. They don't look like Reese Witherspoon, or Cary Grant and Constance Bennett, in my experience. In fact they are not visible.

Though if they were, it would be fine with me if Cary Grant moved in.

It is also possible that this house is haunted, built as it was between the years of 1885-7 (just when Nietzsche was writing Thus Spoke Zarathustra, I might add), and full as it is of strange and not always explainable noises. But so far I think that the birds living in the chimney and the squirrels in the roof take care of most of the mysteries. Though perhaps they are ghost birds and ghost squirrels!

12:21 a.m. - November 11, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me