is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Invitation To Identify, or:

Things You Might Want To Know Before You Take Me Home To Mother.

Being on the academic job market, I get lots of strange missives from hiring committees and department administrators, asking for things or thanking me in my anonymity for applying, and, a few short months from now, I hereby prophesy, rejecting me (rejecting me in my anonymity, not for anything I've done, mind you), etc. But today I got an email, the subject line of which was: "An Invitation to Identify from the University of X---." [name protected] That just seems funny. And also confusing. I mean, am I supposed to identify myself? Or am I supposed to reveal what sets of identity categories I belong to by birth or election? Or am I just supposed to stop (drop, and roll) and then consider the brute force of identity, and of identification, and then make my decision, become authentic, be really, truly me, for once and for all, for chrissakes? I'm not sure. In fact I think I am afraid to follow the link that says "Please follow the link to participate."

Oh, alright, for you I'll do it. And also for the good of my existence, since it has been awhile since I transcended my own facticity. So hold on a minute; I'll be right back.

[pause.]
Turns out, I'm just white and female.

For some schools, however, I'm much more than that. I'm also not a veteran, nor am I disabled, but, though I'm not disabled, for some schools, I am in a "protected group" aged 40 and over!

WHY DON'T YOU LOVE ME?!

7:47 p.m. - November 28, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me