is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

News and Weather.

Today is a dark and stormy night, or a day during which the clouds, thunder and lightning never let up, keep the sun under cover, and the quality of light never approximates a daytime sheen. The storms are so violent that I am sure that some redemptive belief systems would find in them the anger of a god or gods. But why? It's a beautiful dangerousness that reflects life just as well as a gorgeous sunny day or serene setting sun.

However, night-day syndrome may explain why it is 3pm and I'm still acting like it's morning, before work has to begin.

Still, there are things to say. Firstly, EVANY AND MARCO HAVE A BABY NOW. So exciting. I've seen some photos, and they are lovely, especially one of the three of them that is so beautiful it makes me cry a little and I'm not even sure why. I am happy for them, and very very anxious to make my way back to California to meet the newest member of my clan.

I am also relieved, because I had been experiencing lots of rather weighty and dramatic worrying about Evany having a home birth. I understood her reasons for wanting it. But I was worried. But all is well now.

Also: my sister and her husband and supercute baby (aka my nephew, Ramsay, who turns 1 this Halloween) are moving to their new house in the bay area this weekend. So much newness for me to get my head around... and visit.

In the meantime I am slowly packing for a move that won't happen until December. Or later. The person living in the house I am scheduled to live in, in Haverford, has not yet moved out and is not sure when she will move out because the house she bought isn't ready. It is, how shall I say it, distressing. I so wish I could do the move now when I have time to do it. but I can't. So I'll be living out of boxes between here and Gus' apartment in Philly during my first semester of teaching. I wish it were otherwise. But it is not.

Oh, and an update on the great shaving vs. epilating experiment. The shaved leg has now been shaved three times in the eight days since the experiment began. The epilated leg is still largely hair-free, save for a few stragglers that grew in after the initial hair-yankification. I removed those with tweezers of a scrape of the shaver. I'm thinking that epilating is a good base for keeping legs mostly smooth and hair free, to be updated now and then with some shaving, for smoothness and maintenance.

But I'll keep you posted on my assessments as time passes.

That is all. And now I must work.

3:01 p.m. - July 29, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me