is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just begun and already on break. A Bad Work Ethic.

Just Begun and Already on Break. A Bad Work Ethic.

So, yeah, so far the diary has done what I wanted it to. I am writing. And thinking. And even working. But now I'm going on vacation. That's right. Evany, Marilyn, Caroleen, Jeff and I are going to Yosemite, and while we're there you can't call us, or email us, or anything. We will be there until Sunday. We will climb mountains and (in my case) use our asthma inhalers and (all of us) get all misty as we stairmaster our way up the sides of waterfalls. And then we will take hot showers and eat fancy dinners in the valley of Yosemite. Because we are day hikers. Jeff protests. But he is alone.

Maybe next year is the year Evany and I (and you?) will finally get selected to do the High Sierra Camps loop (it's a lottery process to get reservations) and then we will be much much more than day hikers.

For filing under the category of Jill's manias: After I spent a long, long time selecting music for the drive to Yosemite, I spent a longer long time today trying to select what novels to bring for reading. I am going to be on vacation, after all. But then I realized that what I really want to do is read Thus Spoke Zarathustra, on top of a mountain, again. And so I will. I'm bringing Zarathustra, and Otherwise Than Being, and a book on the limits of patriotism, and a book of short stories by David Foster Wallace, and a novel by Jeanette Winterson. Because those really are the things I'd most like to be reading whenever I have time for reading whatever I want. I'm sorry, dust-collecting unread novels. I'm sorry.

So you won't hear more from me until Sunday at the earliest. Until then, here's Evany and I, all misty from the Mist Trail, on the way up Vernal Falls, two years ago.

And here's me and Leah last year at Glacier Point, where there's currently a fire.

And here's Leah and Evany on Sentinel Dome, also currently closed due to fire, with Half Dome BELOW them in the background.

Wish you were here!

1:00 a.m. - July 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me