is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update, Pictures.

Update, Pictures.

I've added photos to most of the road trip pages. In case you're curious.

Also:
The machine noise has subsided.

The spiders are giving up. I still kill one or two a day. But it's now my apartment, not theirs.

The crunchy bugs have disappeared entirely.

No more flies.

The wasps and bees are gone.

I have a phone. Soon I will have DSL, if the phone lines can support it (apparently they won't know for sure until I try to install the equipment).

Hans Blix is in the house. Mom was here for a few days; left this morning. We took a hike up to a "peace pagoda," which is really this amazing and really unexpected huge white dome with a gold statue on the top. Apparently there is a little enclave of Tibetan Buddhists living in the hills between North Amherst and Montague. And they will let you walk up the hill to their temple. It is nice up there.

The strange thing is that, even though the temple is HUGE, you can't see it from any of the roads around there, so it is a big secret, except for a big sign in Tibetan script and a tiny sign that says "peace pagoda," that we missed the first time and almost the second time, too.

Also, when my mom was here, I was showing her the graves in the backyard, and all of a sudden she's all "WHOA." We were looking at the grave of someone who died on September 21, 1791, and it was September 21, 2004. Whoa.

1:42 p.m. - September 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me