is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shimmering in the Water.

Shimmering in the Water.

Our Thanksgiving meal was so good! It was so good that we were very happy to have it all to ourselves and yet we kept feeling that the whole world should have been able to share our food, so good it was. We had:

Trout baked in white wine
Wild mushroom and wild rice pilaf
Fennel braised in butter with chopped celery, carrots and onions
Glazed carrots
Brussels sprouts saut�ed in browned butter with shallots
Roasted potatoes
Rosemary bread
Pumpkin Pie with chocolate crust
A lovely white wine from Bourgogne

I made the brussels sprouts and the pie. Both turned out very well indeed. Linda and Marilyn did all the rest. They are both excellent cooks, so I was lucky to end up in a house with them and happy to allow them to prepare an excellent meal.

Caroline and her friend Paul came over later and brought some more wine and hung out until late into the night. Earlier in the day, before we got around to all the cooking, some other friends of Linda�s came over and we had some champagne along with cheese, crackers and grapes. It was a good day.

Friday I went to two movies. First Jeremy, Linda, Marilyn and I went to see the Wallace and Gromit movie, which was very cute and also very funny. Then we went back to Linda�s for awhile, ate leftovers, and took off for Brooklyn were we saw The Squid and the Whale, except this time it was Jeremy, Linda, Caroline and I, because Marilyn had plans with some Boston friends for more Thanksgiving food action. Squid/Whale was also good, though not cute, and good in an entirely different way from Revenge of the Were-Rabbit. Squid/Whale was one of those family-conflict teen-angst movies that make you cringe with what it�s like to have to live sometimes. But it was well done.

Then we went to a Cuban restaurant where I had yummy yellow rice and black beans and green fried plantains. And the most yummy drink ever: Cuba Libre, made of very good rum with the restaurant�s home-made sour mix and coca-cola. I want to drink that drink continuously forever! Except I don�t actually want to be drunk all the time.

Then we went to Jeremy�s bar, Brooklyn Social, and that was fun. I had a bourbon and a bourbon-based ginger-type drink that is one of the bar�s specialties. KazanjianMan and Emma came and we all had a nice table in the corner with a good view of all the neighborhood action and the people out on their dates and the people out looking for dates. A stranger bought Caroline a pink drink and had it sent over to her. She got up to go find him and talk to him but he had already left! That�s the closest any of us got to SCORING. Ha.

Over dinner Caroline and I were discussing, with Linda, who is newly single, and Jeremy, who is also undating at the moment, the difficulty of finding someone new to date. Jeremy could not believe any of us ladies would be left undated. He has that way of the charming and sympathetic man. I used some sort of fishing metaphor about how I think I�m a good catch but I keep getting thrown back by those who catch me, so I have to ask myself why. Not because I assume it�s my fault but because it would be just as crazy not to ask myself why such things happen as it would be to assume their happening has nothing to do with me. Anyway, Jeremy said, �Well, the fact that you keep getting caught means that you�re there shimmering in the water already, so it�s just a matter of time.�

Aw. I'm there, shimmering in the water! That�s as cute as the time that Liz said to JB, �JB, I GAINED FIVE POUNDS!!!� and JB responded, without pause, �five pounds cuter, Liz, five pounds cuter.�

In other news, Caroline and Wendy have invented a game to be played in Linda�s house. It�s called �What the fuck is that?!� All you have to do is point in any direction in any room, follow the direction of your finger, and then ask, �What the fuck is that?!� Often, you won�t be sure how to answer the question, but it will reveal the endless entertainment value to be found at the Linda and Marian house of hoarding.

11:13 p.m. - November 28, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me