is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's True. I'm in San Francisco.

Howdy. I've been in SF since Friday. Marco and Evany picked me up at the airport, and, as we were driving back to Marco's, we passed one of those digital signs on the highway that post the Amber Alerts and traffic updates. This sign said, "You Drink. You Drive. You Loose." I am not kidding. I said, "Well, everyone loves a drunk-driving slut!" A moment of silence. And then I could feel the tension in the air as Evany and Marco silently competed to come up with the funniest thing to say about the sign. At almost the same time (I think Marco won by a nose), they said, "You Drink. You Drive. You Loose. You Mine!" Ha.

We went back to Marco's and worked on setting up for Saturday's party. Excep that I mostly used the internet (Jill: "Marco, can I use the internet?" Marco: "Jill, you know the internet is a powerful tool!") while they drew doves and hung amazing decorations. Marco constructed a fireplace-looking thing around his TV and then put in a burning-log DVD. He also put together an amazing backdrop for couple photos, like at a winter dance. Evany made the exceedingly cute "Yay! Christmas!" sign. This is what it looks like when doves say yay.

On Saturday my dad and I made the greek christmas cookies that we make every year. Everyone loves them but they take a long time to make so they only appear once a year. Plus it's a secret recipe. My dad drove me back to Marco's and came in to say hi. He and Marco immediately fell into some strange language called "guitar talk." Evany and I laughed. Later, Marco said: "You know, if your parents were one person, they would be my best friend!" I was all, "?" He clarified, "Your dad loves guitars and your mom loves football!!!" Ha.

The party was fun! Lots of great food and good people and booze booze booze. Evany made some yummy Swedish Massage punch and the boys tended to hang around the keg that E and M procured leftover from the McSweeney's party that I missed on Thursday night.

My sister came to Marco's party! Because she is now his neighbor. That was fun. In fact I am at my sister's house right now, after spending a few very quiet days out in Benicia at my mom's cute little bungalow.

There's more, but that's all for now.

4:11 p.m. - December 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me