is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On How Two Days Ago Is Last Night.

On How Two Days Ago Is Last Night.

So I moved into the BeattyMatt on beautiful Junky Alley here in SF a couple of days ago. I took one glorious long long walk such as is possible only in a city such as New York, London, or San Francisco. And I had a good hike on a hill with a girl and a dog. Plus I helped my dad buy a car, that I now get to use. But mostly I've been holed up in the BeattyMatt trying to write a book review (and, yes, really I should be trying to write a BOOK). It's almost done, the review. But it's a review of a book it would take a lifetime to read, really. I don't mean that in a bad way. But I don't mean it only in a good way, either. (Perhaps that should be my review.)

Anyway, a couple of nights ago, post-House, Caroleen and I were watching three episodes in a row of the Sweet Sixteen show on MTV, about rich spoiled girls planning their sweet sixteen parties (a reality show, and a bleak and wretched reality it is!). At one point I caught myself staring at the television with a look of amazement and disbelief on my face. And I thought, wait, I've had this same look on my face, and this same feeling, sitting here on this very same couch, at some other time! When was it? What was it for? Am I in a time machine? (How do I know this is real?)

And then I remembered, and I said to Caroleen: "What's worse, this or Trapped in the Closet"?

She thought about it for a moment and said, "It's hard to say. They are such different genres."

That they are. Two very different genres sharing an outrageously sucktastic hubris. What hubris? That they even exist! It is shocking.

Speaking of "a couple of nights ago," my sister pointed out that my diary sometimes enacts a strange temporality wherein I write something like, "last night Evany and I...." but then refer to an event that, for those reading it, even those reading it in a timely fashion, would have happened longer ago than last night. Why does this happen? It is because my time consciousness is different from yours. No, actually, it is because I tend to write in the middle of the night. So when I post something at 3am on May 24, "yesterday" actually refers to the night of May 22. OK. Maybe my time consciousness is different from yours. But I'm guessing you usually know what I mean, right?

And now, I must return to a book it would take a lifetime to read.

PS�Now is night!

11:41 p.m. - May 25, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me