is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ugh. And then Eureka!

Ugh. Today I spent most of the day packing and then reading through essays and books trying to figure out what to teach in my fall course on the philosophy of rights, so I could in turn figure out what books I need to order and what books I can just excerpt, etc. A Bekins representative came by and gave me a moving estimate, and I signed a contract with them, because I've worked with them before and the quote was what I expected given what I've heard from other companies so far. I'm moving May 30.

Around 5:30 all of this began to feel oh-so-tiresome. Plus today was the beginning of the long hot sticky Pennsylvania summer. I was trying not to use the air conditioner, but that resulted in a lot of sweating.

Anyway, all of a sudden it seemed like really the only thing I could do is make some brownies. Then I remembered, Eureka!, that I now own the Recchiuti Chocolate Obsession book, and that it contains the recipe for the magical knee-buckle-causing brownies the powers of which I've so often extolled.

So I baked the shit out of some of those, and man are they good!! I didn't have Recchiuti chocolate on hand, and I had recently used up all my Callebaut, but I did have a bunch of Michel Cluizel 99% dark chocolate, which may as well be unsweetened, and, like I said, MAN, are these brownies amazing. Right now they are beckoning me back to eat more, and I'm trying hard to wait until tomorrow until I answer their call. Or at least until Gus gets here later.

8:56 p.m. - May 10, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me