is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy August.

Happy August, my friends. Time is flying by and it's already almost time for me to return to the hothot east coast. Oh, how lovely is the air of the Bay Area?!

I know I haven't written much lately, and, well, today will be no exception. Maybe this will suffice, on Gene's site, as a substitute for interesting new content here? (Is this what it has come to? I'm not even cheat-writing by posting an IM conversation on my blog, I'm linking to an IM conversation I had with a friend, which he posted to his blog!)

Anyway, in the meantime of the last space of time since I wrote, Gus was here for a week and that was great. We did lots of stuff and saw people and ate good food and walked and/or drove around all over the place. And right before Gus got here I finished two papers that had been hanging over my head like swords of Damocles ready to drop and cover me with fatal papercuts (sword-drop averted in the shaving-nick of time!), and I even got through some of the massive pile of OPP editing I have always waiting for me like little papier mache stalkers.

In this instance OPP means "other people's papers." I have to edit all the papers for the Levinas/Nietzsche book (a job for which I am by no means 'on time' at present), and also I've taken on a job editing a book manuscript for someone else. And I'm waiting for delivery of another outside job, all in the name of money, my friends. I don't start getting paychecks until mid-September and the money flow is drying up at an alarming pace.

However, it sure is great to be in SF with my friends. And it sure was lovely-great to have Gustavus with me here, too! He and I even succeeded in letting a few whole days pass during which we did no work at all. That is something that academic-types (and not only academic-types, of course) are sometimes bad at doing: letting whole days pass without work invading.

It is very important to let whole days go by without working sometimes.

But now I've been working all day for the past two days, my wrists hurt (because I've been editing/typing), and I am so very excited about sleeping that I will now bid you a fond until-later!

11:53 p.m. - August 01, 2007
Claverack Weekender - 2007-08-02 08:32:03
When are you coming home? You have to see our bunny: http://youtube.com/watch?v=cNPOdffkkLo
-------------------------------
John - 2007-08-02 11:36:26
Um, so, you're not done with your essay for the volume? Oh. I seem to remember some being harassed and guilt-tripped (ok, so most of that was self-generated) for tardiness...alas. [Insert: emoticon signifying a joke and smile, because of course I am just kidding.] You and I have unfinished bidness as well, girl, in case you need another responsibility (close enough to infinity yet?) to crack your psyche. But, seriously, hang in there. Starting mid-September, you'll have a paycheck for your whole life. That's important to remember in the middle of the stress.
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-08-02 13:42:26
john! one of the essays I finished was the one I wrote for the volume. finally! it is now "only" the editing I have left to do (ahem, you'll be hearing from me soon....). but do not think I have forgotten the other duty to which you refer. we will get on that one soon, too, methinks.
-------------------------------
John - 2007-08-03 13:15:40
As you can, of course...best from The 413.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me