is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you see something, eat something.

It used to be that my dad and I would spend a day every year, some time in December, making the yearly batch of Greek Xmas cookies. They're tasty little bullets of flour, bourbon, olive oil, and powdered sugar. And they are a truly amazing mouth experience.

However, living and working on the east coast makes it hard for me to make the commute to Vallejo, CA in time to make the cookies. That has meant that my dad is stuck with a huge job (last year he wrote to say he had never realized how big my part of the job was, ha). But it's worth it, because the cookies are so great! Anyway, this year my dad made some and then quick-mailed a small tin of them to me. This was a valiant experiment destined to fail, as the cookies aren't very stable�they crumble easily.

I'm surprised the box didn't show up at my door along with a Homeland Security detail, because by the time it got to me powdered sugar was leaking out the edges of the outer box. Ha. In New York we are constantly told "If you see something, say something." (Yeah, the most inane alarmist public awareness campaign ever.) Isn't white powder supposed to be scary?

But they arrived, the cookies. Fairly pulverized. But that did not stop me from fitting all the pieces into my mouth in three sittings. When I'm eating whole cookies, I know not to eat more than two or three at a sitting, or I'll go into a crazed sugar and dough coma. It's like they expand once they've had some time in your gut. But it's hard to tell how much you're eating when you're eating tiny pieces. Let's just say I went overboard. Twice.

Anyway, they are SO YUMMY. I look forward to accessing some more once I make it to CA. And so do all my west coast friends.

11:45 p.m. - December 09, 2007
js - 2007-12-11 16:51:59
doh! i get back on the 9th. WHEN WILL I SEE YOU?!
-------------------------------
Vermont Cousin - 2007-12-10 22:00:33
How long are you out West? We're in VT from 12/16 to 1/3 and in the city from 1/3 to 1/6. Would love to see you.
-------------------------------
js - 2007-12-18 17:38:23
i'll bet if you asked my DAD for it, he'd give it to you. i feel that he has more authority to do so. for some reason i myself still feel bound by my grandmother's crazy code of silence. hahahahaha.
-------------------------------
Vermont Cousin - 2007-12-18 23:08:13
We could tell you, but then we would have to kill you.
-------------------------------
oldest friend on planet needs recipe - 2007-12-17 18:29:05
are you really going to guard it forever?!?! really?
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me