is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Song Never Quite Written.

Gus has a washer and dryer. He has washer and dryer in his house, which means that, according to my definitions, he is more grown-up than I am. In at least that way.

Anyway. So of course I often show up in Philly with a bag full of dirty clothes. But that's not my point. My point is that his washing machine plays a song every time it finishes washing a load. It's a lengthy song. And not a song you've ever heard before. It's not Row Row Row Your Boat or Fur Elise. So I'm thinking that some washing machine company paid some song composer some amount of money to write a song for the end of a wash cycle? WEIRD.

Anyway, the song really needs some LYRICS. It is CRYING OUT for lyrics. I want to be SINGING that song whenever my clothes are newly cleaned. But the song is both lengthy and not all that straightforward rhythmically, so you can't just dash some lyrics off the top of your head, nor can you recall all the melody's twists and turns once the song has ended. And then you can't listen to the song again unless you want to wash another load of clothes and wait the 45 minutes it takes for the machine to do its duty. And then you're stuck at the beginning of the loop of this paragraph, where the song needs lyrics and you want to be singing the song, but you can't. It just can't be done.

But at least your clothes have been cleaned, and you didn't even have to go to a seedy laundromat in Crown Heights, Brooklyn. All good.

PS�The laundry machine in question is the GE Spacemaker with One Touch Load Sensing. If you own this machine and have recognized its song as some classic already-existing piece of music, LET ME KNOW. Thanks.

7:24 p.m. - January 21, 2008
js - 2008-01-23 00:30:37
ha. no. no ice cube dispenser in the door. i don't have an ice dispenser either, though i've definitely got the more grown-up kitchen. however, none of my appliances play songs. ever.
-------------------------------
RZ - 2008-01-22 05:42:54
Does Gus also have an ice cube dispenser in his fridge door?
-------------------------------
Isabelle - 2008-01-21 22:57:44
Ha! I used my boyfriend's washing machine for the first time on Sunday and it too plays a song when it's done. It was a touch surreal and it amused me muchly.
-------------------------------
AK - 2008-01-27 14:58:58
haha that's awesome. I really want to hear the tune now.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me