is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

eBay ups and downs.

Day Four. Epilated leg still looks newly shaven, except for a few stray hairs here and there which can be easily removed. The Shaved leg had to be re-shaved because my vanity is apparently more powerful than my dedication to science. So, the no-duh pro-side of epilating is that you just don't have to shave as often. I will keep you posted on how much shaving it will save you. The con-side is, as I've mentioned, that the epilated leg never feels quite as smooth as the newly shaved leg and also, on me, the hair follicle-areas are more noticeable, like little pink dots instead of mostly invisible. I have sensitive skin. Skin that is sensitive to having hair mercilessly ripped out of its follicles. But I think this is something only someone really looking closely for the difference would notice.

Last week I had a good week on eBay. Won some $150 dansko clogs for a mere $6. I'm still not quite sure how that happened. I think a bunch of other potential bidders just assumed that lots of people would bid at the last minute and so gave up without bidding. I almost did that, but then decided, hell, I'll bid $20 and who knows maybe I'll get lucky. And man, did I get LUCKY. I will post photos to the shoe blog soon.

I also won a pair of fluevog amina flats in black for $25. Nice. They retailed for over $100 and are no longer made, so that's cool.

I also won a great Betsey Johnson skirt for only $15. But then the seller mailed me a tie-dyed t-shirt instead. Total sad trombone effect. I mean, I am from the BAY AREA and thus I made, long ago, my principled decision that TIE DYE SUCKS because it is for HIPPIES and that is NOT WHAT I AM. So the error in packaging made by the seller is particularly egregious, heh.

These hippy-or-not choices seem much more stark when you are in your 20s in the bay area, believe me.

Anyway, I wrote to the seller to say, dude, WTF. I'm sure she'll refund my money. But I'm thinking the person who got the Betsey Johnson skirt is probably NOT going to complain, so perhaps I'll never see my little gem. Sadness. But, really, in the world of sadnesses, not much of a big one. A mockery, really, to call it sadness given the way the world is.

Oh, and I also received the way-marked-down shoes I ordered from Fluevog during this round of the awesome Fluevog sale. Photos soon, I promise. It was very hard for me to restrain myself to buy only one pair, but I am trying to live within my means, so even when shoes you love are marked down by 50-75%, you aren't allowed to have them all, OK?

Plus, the first round of the new fall line of Fluevogs just got released, and o! man! there are a couple of pair in there that I would love to have, and more to come that I've not yet seen. Maybe someday those will go on sale, too, and then I'll be allowed to choose one from amongst their great number. Such are my sacrifices. But just like the sadness of the tie-dyed t-shirt, these are really hardly sacrifices.

I do love shoes and clothes. And I do think that the way persons express themselves with their clothing and shoes matters (to many but not all people). But I never lose sight of what is also really meaningless about it all, especially the really pricey stuff. You know?

Otherwise put, or as they show on What Not To Wear all the time, you don't have to spend a lot of money to look good. But some things are worth spending more on, because they will last longer and give you That Much More pleasure. Shoes fall into that category. Now back to work.

4:14 p.m. - July 25, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me