is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

timing.

Once, at Dave Eggers' wedding, I was walking down a hallway in a party facility, looking for a restroom, when, all of a sudden, I realized that Jonathan Richman was standing against the wall strumming a guitar, watching me walk by. I stopped, looked and laughed. I wanted to say a bunch of things to him but the first thing I thought of was a complicated observation about Jean-Jacques Rousseau and social conventions, which seemed too weird. So I said, "Wow, you make me feel like I'm in a movie that doesn't suck." He smiled, ever so slightly.

And then I walked away, because I have a sense of how long a story is supposed to last.

12:49 a.m. - September 11, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me