is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"OK! WELL, WE'LL SEE YOU AT GULLIFTY'S!"

There's this restaurant in the suburban area where I live called Gullifty's. It is exactly what you think a restaurant called Gullifty's would be. It is a like a more homey family-style version of TGIFriday's. The food is not terrible. But there are many other restaurants nearby where the food is more interesting, and better.

So, often, when Gus and I have decided to go out for a meal, and we already know we aren't going to drive into Philly for said meal, we begin rehearsing our list of suburban choices. It is not a bad list--one of the perks of living in a ritzy suburb (where we afford to live only because of H-ford's subsidized faculty housing) is that we aren't stuck with the usual range of stripmall options.

So Gus will say something like, "Well, we could go to Plate, or Mediterranean Grill, or Mikado. ...And of course Gullifty's." And I will reply, "There's also Verdad, and Tango, and San Pietro. And of course Gullifty's." Because saying that is manifestly hilarious, right?

Anyway, the other night Gus and I went to see The Social Network at The Bryn Mawr Film Institute (and then we went to Verdad for tapas and wine), and as we were walking out of the theater we overheard this older guy saying, loudly, to some friends, "OK! WELL, WE'LL SEE YOU AT GULLIFTY'S!" And he wasn't joking.

Har har.

(However, here is where I admit that, in certain moods, I really like a place like Gullifty's. I like an anonymous no-surprises chain restaurant in a nondescript mall. But mostly I like ending up at a place like that by myself, when I need some hiding and reading time. It is why, when I lived in Brooklyn, even though I lived very near many inventive and affordable really good restaurants, you would sometimes find me in the characterless mall called the atlantic center, sitting at Houlihans, eating no-surprises salmon with broccoli and a baked potato. Sometimes, in a certain kind of mood, that is just what I need.)

11:07 a.m. - October 26, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me