is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Segel. Shopping. Miscellany.

Today I sold books in Berkeley and made some good money. Then I had lunch with Jonathan, who is finally back in town after having been either on tour or in Sweden for a very long time. It was great to see him, and fun to hang out for a good long time in the sun on the back patio of a restaurant on Telegraph Avenue. We had a funny lunch wherein we agreed about everything. This is funny because we tend to bring out the argument in each other, in a good way. So the first thing he said to me (all emphatically) was, �WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THAT AIMEE MANN ALBUM?!� I�m all: �IT IS SO GOOD THAT I WAS LISTENING TO IT OBSESSIVELY AND CRYING FOR LIKE A MONTH AFTER IT CAME OUT.� He�s all, �Fuck yeah! Me too!� We traded some more expletive-type praises. Then I asked him which was his favorite song on the album and he said �either �Video� or �Beautiful� and I answered, �ME TOO!�. This most important moment of agreement resulted in a dork-ass high five. (Though upon further reflection, I can say with confidence that 'Video' is the BEST song.) Then he told me of an album by John Vanderslice that is not yet released that I will surely like as well. I typed its release date into my Sidekick. Then he told me of bands he had seen perform during his recent travels and asked me whether I had ever heard of The Weakerthans. I told him happy stories about their album �Reconstruction Site� and asked whether the boys in the band were cute. Apparently they are very cute. Then we discussed whether I would be allowed to date any of them, given their youth, and various forms of joking spiraled out for awhile.

Then we discussed less happy matters, like how people are dumb, relationships are dumb, and love is dumb. But then we both agreed that we are fond of people, relationships and love nonetheless. This may mean that he and I are dumb, too. But we are smart enough to know that this is a kind of dumb that it would be stupid to wish away. Then we discussed the lives and the ups and downs of various friends-in-common. It was good to hear about this group of music-guys I haven�t seen for six months or so. We drank lots of iced tea and ate yummy food.

Sorry for the abrupt transition here, but:

More About Bra Shopping, as promised.

The main problem during this year�s humiliation-fest was that they didn�t have �my bra.� �My bra� is the one bra I�ve been wearing for years because it�s the only one that fits. Every year I go and try on twenty to thirty different bras thinking maybe something even better will have come along in the meantime. Every year I end up taking what I can get from the racks (heh) holding the bras just like the one I�m already wearing. Except this year the only bras they had in my size in the �my bra� section were FLESH COLORED. (Or, to be more specific, band-aid colored, which is not the color of anyone�s flesh, not even if you happen to be Caucasian.) As I was trolling through the racks of �my bra� and coming to the horrid realization that the only 34Ds were FLESH COLORED, I actually said, out loud, �YOU CAN�T MAKE ME.� Sure, you can make me wear utterly (heh) boring bras that are clearly made only to carry a formidable load and so have no time for cuteness. Sure you can make me take what I can get from amongst the colors you manufacture. But you cannot make me wear one of those flesh colored bras. YOU SIMPLY CANNOT DO IT, oh manufacturers of ladygarments! I am JILL.

A girl who was looking for some other size on the same rack said, �can�t make you do what?� I laughed and tried to explain my insanity. It didn�t really work. She was looking for a 34B. AS IF YOU EVEN HAVE TO LOOK FOR THAT SIZE! It�s everywhere.

So I couldn�t have any of the cute colors available: red, teal, bronze, pastel polka dots, navy. I began to despair. The bras I bought last year are really starting to give out on me, and so the situation was desperate. Then I saw another style of bra in a new fabric but from the same manufacturer. And when I looked to try to find the size 34D, the only colors I could find in my size were BRIGHT RED, DARK RED, and PINK. And then when I tried them on, THEY FIT, and were even in that soft soft material I mentioned last year, that is like if you tried to make a bunny into a brassiere. Turns out, the universe hasn�t turned its back on me! I could only find three bras in my size, so I couldn�t stock up for a whole year. But you know I bought the shit out of those bras. I am wearing one RIGHT NOW. It is very cute, given the cute-constraints dictated by its size and the job it has to perform.

Still working on the Yosemite entry. It includes: top-of-the-world feeling; so many stars; getting lost and ending up with stigmata-wounds; varied uses to which walkie-talkies can be put; Jeff being mocked mercilessly but lovingly by Jill, Caroleen, and Evany; Man Trek; Jill�s crazy emotional outburst; a Hoover-wilderness terrain so beautiful it can�t possibly be real; marmogers; cinnamon bear defeating the bear box; cooking s�mores in the tent despite having been asked to sign a �no cooking in the tent� clause; and much, much more. Evany has posted some photos, too!

6:53 p.m. - August 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me