is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm with the band?

A couple of weeks ago I had a rite of passage that involved witnessing a rite of passage. I saw my friend's son's band play in a bar. Please pause for a moment in case you didn't get that. My friend's son's band. Someone I know, of my same age, has a son who is in a band that played in a bar.

Of course, he's 14, not 21. But still.

It was Cash! Leisa and Sunny's boy Cash. His band is called The Little Witnesses. And man, was it cute.

Of course, it was punk rock type music, so it's not supposed to be "cute." Which is why it was funny that there was this whole crew of older people in the bar smiling inappropriately at the angry music. It's not that we're the kind of older people who look like they don't belong in a bar. We still look like people who hang out in urban drinking destinations. But there we were, smiling those huge uncontrollable smiles that strike a person when a person sees the boy who used to draw cute bunnies lead-singing in a punk rock band. Wow. I wanted to hug him but was afraid that would embarrass him, and so on. Ha. But look!

Here's one I should have expected, but didn't. I walk into the bar and straight up to the table where Evany and Marco are sitting. The first thing they ask is: "so, there's the band. which one is going to be your boyfriend?"

HAHAHAHA. A fair question, given my history (of dating guys in bands, not 14 year olds, let us be clear). A fair question rendered HILARIOUS by context.

Which is one more piece of evidence gathering in the "Jill is Old" folder. It's OK. I'm aging well.

And here we all are (Marco behind the camera) at Serpentine, later.

It's good to be back in my place in Brooklyn but I miss my San Franciscan hearts already!

11:26 p.m. - January 14, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me